Search Reading Guides

A |B |C |D |E |F |G |H |I |J |K |L |M |N |O |P |Q |R |S |T |U |V |W |X |Y |Z |all
Viewing 1020-1030 of 1341 reading guides found

The Translator: A Memoir

by Daoud Hari

Published: 2009-01-13

Paperback: 224 pages

0 members reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book

The young life of Daoud Hari–his friends call him David–has been one of bravery and mesmerizing adventure. The Translator is a suspenseful, harrowing, and deeply moving memoir of how one person has made a difference in the world, an on-the-ground account of one of the biggest stories o...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Amazon.com Offer List Price:$16.00
Amazon's Price:$12.05
You Save:$3.95 (25%)
Buy This Book

The Translator: A Tribesman's Memoir of Darfur

by Daoud Hari

Published: 2008-03-18

Hardcover: 224 pages

0 members reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book

I am the translator who has taken journalists into dangerous Darfur. It is my intention now to take you there in this book, if you have the courage to come with me.The young life of Daoud Hari?his friends call him David?has been one of bravery and mesmerizing adventure. He is a living witn...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Amazon.com Offer List Price:$23.00
Amazon's Price:N/A
Buy This Book

Transmission

by Hari Kunzru

Published: 2005-01-25

Paperback: 288 pages

0 members reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book

In Transmission, award-winning writer Hari Kunzru takes an ultra-contemporary turn with the story of an Indian computer programmer whose luxurious fantasies about life in America are shaken when he accepts a California job offer. Lonely and nave, Arjun spends his days as a lowly assistan...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Amazon.com Offer List Price:$15.00
Amazon's Price:$15.00
Buy This Book

Transparency: Stories

by Frances Hwang

Published: 2007-04-18

Paperback: 240 pages

0 members reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book

With a deceptively simple yet graceful style, and in the tradition of Lara Vapnyar, Jhumpa Lahiri, and Gish Jen, Frances Hwang captures the thousand minor battles waged in the homes of immigrants--struggles to preserve timehonored traditions or break free of them, to maintain authority or ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Amazon.com Offer List Price:$13.99
Amazon's Price:$12.75
You Save:$1.24 (9%)
Buy This Book

View Reading GUide

* * Gloomy,
Informative,
Dramatic

1 club review

Trapeze

by Simon Mawer

Published: 2012-05-01

Paperback: 384 pages

0 members reading this now
4 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book

A propulsive novel of World War II espionage by the author of New York Times best seller The Glass Room.Barely out of school and doing her bit for the British war effort, Marian Sutro has one quality that makes her stand out—she is a native French speaker. It is this that attracts the at...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Amazon.com Offer List Price:$15.95
Amazon's Price:$9.96
You Save:$5.99 (38%)
Buy This Book

Trapped

by Judy Spurr

Published: 2007-10-26

Paperback: 80 pages

0 members reading this now
1 club reading this now
0 members have read this book

Twelve-year-old Jamie Parker is trapped in all sorts of ways. His father is in danger of losing his lobster business and middle school is starting, which means Jamie will now be stuck in his reading classes again. Not only is reading hard for him, but he has to contend with Ray Quinn, a bully who has...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Amazon.com Offer List Price:$8.95
Amazon's Price:$8.95
Buy This Book

TRAPPED

by Lori L. Stephens, Robert S. Nahas

Published: 2009-02-18

Paperback: 332 pages

2 members reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book

A true story of great inspiration. The life of a woman who was abandoned my her mother at age 14 and raped. This was just the beginning. She endured 30 years of physical abuse, drug addiction of methamphetamines and alcohol, and going in and out of jail. But Lori L. Stephens decided change the way things...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Amazon.com Offer List Price:$19.95
Amazon's Price:N/A
Buy This Book

Trapped

by Michael Northrop

Published: 2012-12-01

Paperback: 240 pages

0 members reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book

A chilling YA thriller from critically acclaimed author Michael Northrop.The day the blizzard started, no one knew that it was going to keep snowing for a week. That for those in its path, it would become not just a matter of keeping warm, but of staying alive. . . .Scotty and his friends ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Amazon.com Offer List Price:$9.99
Amazon's Price:$7.58
You Save:$2.41 (24%)
Buy This Book

Trauma (Vintage Contemporaries)

by Patrick McGrath

Published: 2009-04-07

Paperback: 240 pages

0 members reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book

Charlie Weir is a man who tackles other people's demons for a living. He has seen every kind of trauma during his years as a psychiatrist in New York.Yet he hasn't found a way of resolving his own conflicts, particularly the fatal mistake that caused his wife and daughter to leave him cond...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Amazon.com Offer List Price:$14.95
Amazon's Price:$14.95
Buy This Book

Travel as a Political Act

by Rick Steves

Published: 2009-05-05

Paperback: 209 pages

0 members reading this now
2 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book

Travel connects people with people. It helps us fit more comfortably and compatibly into a shrinking world. And it inspires creative new solutions to persistent problems facing our nation. We can?t understand our world without experiencing it. Traveling as a Political Act helps us take th...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Amazon.com Offer List Price:$17.99
Amazon's Price:N/A
Buy This Book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...