BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Romantic,
Insightful,
Dramatic

1 review

Happiness Sold Separately
by Lolly Winston

Published: 2007-06-19
Paperback : 320 pages
0 members reading this now
0 club reading this now
6 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 1 of 1 members
The New York Times bestseller about how marriage, love, and how sometimes falling in love with the wrong person at the wrong time can be the right thing. Elinor Mackey has lived her life in perfect order: college, law school, marriage, successful corporate career. But when she discovers ...
No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

The New York Times bestseller about how marriage, love, and how sometimes falling in love with the wrong person at the wrong time can be the right thing. Elinor Mackey has lived her life in perfect order: college, law school, marriage, successful corporate career. But when she discovers that she and her podiatrist husband, Ted, can't have children, Elinor withdraws into her own world of heartbreak and anger. While Elinor
falls in love with the oak tree in their front yard, sleeping under it at night, Ted begins an affair with Gina, the nutritionist at their gym. Ted, who may be the only one who can help Gina and her son, suddenly finds himself in love with two women at the same time. In the tradition of Anne Tyler, John Cheever, and Tom Perrotta, Winston's second novel looks beyond the manicured surface of suburbia to a world of loss, longing, lust, and betrayal.

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

No discussion questions at this time.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
  "Tough Reality Meets Good Fiction"by Krislynn (see profile) 08/22/10

Winston explores the real and raw emotional struggles in marriages as her characters battle infertility, aging and temptation. How do you support someone who won't let you in? How do you share with someone... (read more)

 
  "Okay Book, Nothing Special!"by kutelokita (see profile) 10/30/08

Pretty decent book, nothing much to fan about. I felt like it was pretty easy read. I liked how the novel provides insight of each characters.

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...