BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Informative,
Dramatic,
Beautiful

2 reviews

The Subway Girls: A Novel
by Susie Orman Schnall

Published: 2018-07-10
Paperback : 320 pages
6 members reading this now
4 clubs reading this now
2 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 2 of 2 members

From the author of The Balance Project comes a dual-timeline narrative featuring a 1949 Miss Subways contestant and a modern-day advertising executive whose careers and lives intersect.

"Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely...Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

From the author of The Balance Project comes a dual-timeline narrative featuring a 1949 Miss Subways contestant and a modern-day advertising executive whose careers and lives intersect.

"Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely...Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." ?Taylor Jenkins Reid, acclaimed author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

"A fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis’s The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women’s lives." ?Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions

In 1949, dutiful and ambitious Charlotte's dream of a career in advertising is shattered when her father demands she help out with the family business. Meanwhile, Charlotte is swept into the glamorous world of the Miss Subways beauty contest, which promises irresistible opportunities with its Park Avenue luster and local fame status. But when her new friend?the intriguing and gorgeous fellow-participant Rose?does something unforgivable, Charlotte must make a heart-wrenching decision that will change the lives of those around her forever.

Nearly 70 years later, outspoken advertising executive Olivia is pitching the NYC subways account in a last ditch effort to save her job at an advertising agency. When the charismatic boss she’s secretly in love with pits her against her misogynistic nemesis, Olivia’s urgent search for the winning strategy leads her to the historic Miss Subways campaign. As the pitch date closes in on her, Olivia finds herself dealing with a broken heart, an unlikely new love interest, and an unexpected personal connection to Miss Subways that could save her job?and her future.

The Subway Girls is the charming story of two strong women, a generation apart, who find themselves up against the same eternal struggle to find an impossible balance between love, happiness, and ambition.

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

C HAP T E R 1

C H A R L OT T E
T H U R S D AY, M A R C H 3 , 194 9



After extensive research and considerable internal delib- eration, Charlotte had submitted employment applications to five advertising agencies, their prestigious footings in Madison Avenue’s most glimmering and stalwart buildings having nothing to do with her choices. Four rejected her ex- peditiously. The deliberately worded and carefully typed mis- sives were diplomatic: the standard We are unable to offer you employment at this time. We wish you well in your con- tinued pursuits sort of baloney. ... view entire excerpt...

Discussion Questions

Had you ever heard of the Miss Subways contest before reading this book? What did you think of it?

Charlotte and Olivia are both ambitious and passionate women, separated by decades. What similarities did you notice in their characters? How are they different?

Discuss how our society has changed—or not—since the time of the Miss Subways contest in terms of opportunities for women in the workplace, the pitfalls of female ambition, the objectification of women, etc.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
  "The Subway Girls"by Silversolara (see profile) 07/10/18


We move from 1949 to 2018 and come across girls who auditioned for being a Subway Girl in 1948 to an advertising agency in 2018 that needs a new campaign to help the transit system get mor
... (read more)

 
  "Surprising!"by [email protected] (see profile) 07/05/18

Totally unexpected thrill ride!! So much more than just the story of The Subway Girls, this is a great collaboration between the past and the present, how things have changed, yet are still the same. Absolutely... (read more)

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...