BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Beautiful,
Optimistic,
Interesting

3 reviews

Not That I Could Tell: A Novel
by Jessica Strawser

Published: 2018-03-27
Hardcover : 336 pages
3 members reading this now
7 clubs reading this now
2 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 3 of 3 members

"Full of slow-burning intrigue, Strawser's second novel will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies and Jennifer Kitses' Small Hours." ?Booklist

*Book of the Month Club Selection

An innocent night of fun takes a shocking turn in Not That I Could Tell, the next page-turner from ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

"Full of slow-burning intrigue, Strawser's second novel will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies and Jennifer Kitses' Small Hours." ?Booklist

*Book of the Month Club Selection

An innocent night of fun takes a shocking turn in Not That I Could Tell, the next page-turner from Jessica Strawser, author of Almost Missed You.

When a group of neighborhood women gathers, wine in hand, around a fire pit where their backyards meet one Saturday night, most of them are just ecstatic to have discovered that their baby monitors reach that far. It’s a rare kid-free night, and they’re giddy with it. They drink too much, and the conversation turns personal.

By Monday morning, one of them is gone.

Everyone knows something about everyone else in the quirky small Ohio town of Yellow Springs, but no one can make sense of the disappearance. Kristin was a sociable twin mom, college administrator, and doctor’s wife who didn’t seem all that bothered by her impending divorce?and the investigation turns up more questions than answers, with her husband, Paul, at the center. For her closest neighbor, Clara, the incident triggers memories she thought she’d put behind her?and when she’s unable to extract herself from the widening circle of scrutiny, her own suspicions quickly grow. But the neighborhood’s newest addition, Izzy, is determined not to jump to any conclusions?especially since she’s dealing with a crisis of her own.

As the police investigation goes from a media circus to a cold case, the neighbors are forced to reexamine what’s going on behind their own closed doors?and to ask how well anyone really knows anyone else.

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

1. Clara and Benny differ on whether their neighbors’
problems are any of their business. Which one of them
is right? Is it possible that they are both right?

2. What do Izzy and Paul have in common? What
parallels can you draw between their individual stories,
and where do those lines diverge?


3. Izzy forces herself to absorb the horrible stories in her
newsfeed; Randi and Rhoda identify as “citizens of the
world” but also proclaim their willingness to retreat
into a “happy little bubble.” Do you think it’s healthy
to be able to compartmentalize tragedy, or is it more
important to be keenly aware of what’s happening
around us, even when it’s ugly?

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by [email protected] (see profile) 12/22/19

I have been in a reading slump for longer than I’d admit. Before this I read a disappointing book that almost put me back into a slump. I honestly bought this book because the cover was beautiful and... (read more)

 
by Ritagoodbooklately (see profile) 03/09/19

 
by [email protected] (see profile) 01/13/19

This is the first “domestic thriller“that I have read. I was not convinced by the reactions and the character motivations. Some of the book was interesting.

 
  "Great summer read!"by [email protected] (see profile) 07/05/18

Great book!! Story of neighbors intermingled with family life, love, and a missing mother and her twins. Full of mystery, backstory, great characters, and strong women.

 
  "Not That I Could Tell"by klarerm (see profile) 04/19/18

We all enjoyed the book because we live near Yellow Springs. It provided some discussion about neighbors and relationships but it wasn't a deep thinking book. You can get discussion questions.

 
  "Not That I Could Tell"by Silversolara (see profile) 03/27/18



Women enjoying a care-free night, a night that turned into telling too many personal things, and then a morning that turned out badly.

The women of Yellow Springs and their specific



... (read more)

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...