BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Addictive,
Dramatic,
Fantastic

2 reviews

Best Day Ever
by Kaira Rouda

Published: 2018-08-21
Paperback : 368 pages
18 members reading this now
8 clubs reading this now
2 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 1 of 2 members
“FABULOUS.” —B.A. Paris, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown

THE PERFECT MARRIAGE IS THE PERFECT ILLUSION.

Paul Strom has the perfect life: a glittering career as an advertising executive, a beautiful wife, two healthy boys and a big house in a ...
No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

“FABULOUS.” —B.A. Paris, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown

THE PERFECT MARRIAGE IS THE PERFECT ILLUSION.

Paul Strom has the perfect life: a glittering career as an advertising executive, a beautiful wife, two healthy boys and a big house in a wealthy suburb. And he’s the perfect husband: breadwinner, protector, provider. That’s why he’s planned a romantic weekend for his wife, Mia, at their lake house, just the two of them. And he’s promised today will be the best day ever.

But as Paul and Mia drive out of the city and toward the countryside, a spike of tension begins to wedge itself between them and doubts start to arise. How much do they trust each other? And how perfect is their marriage, or any marriage, really?

Forcing us to ask ourselves just how well we know those who are closest to us, Best Day Ever crackles with dark energy, spinning ever tighter toward its shocking conclusion. In the vein of The Couple Next Door, Kaira Rouda weaves a gripping, tautly suspenseful tale of deception and betrayal dark enough to destroy a marriage…or a life.

Praise for Best Day Ever



“Highly entertaining and truly surprising!” —Kate Moretti, New York Times bestselling author of The Vanishing Year



“Best Day Ever is a creepy, spine-tingling and utterly addictive tale of domestic suspense.” —Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke, bestselling authors of The Good Widow

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

Morning 9 a.m.
Chapter 1
I glance at my wife as she climbs into the passenger seat, sunlight bouncing off her shiny blond hair like sparklers lit for the Fourth of July, and I am bursting with confidence. Everything is as it should be. ... view entire excerpt...

Discussion Questions

1. Paul Strom is an unreliable narrator. At what point in the story did you begin to realize he might be telling you only what he wanted you to know? How long did it take you to realize he was poisoning his wife?

2. What do you think of Mia? We see her largely through Paul’s point of view, and he hardly paints her in the most sympathetic light. Do you identify with her or did you think she should have made different choices in her relationship with Paul?

3. Does Paul legitimately think he is a good husband and father? He says his life revolves around his perfect family. Is he trying to fool you, the reader, or himself?

4. What do you think a young woman like Gretchen sees in Paul? Is she ultimately a victim, or is she part of the problem?

5. Caroline is the only woman we know of who resisted Paul’s advances. Do you think this rejection started Paul on his downward spiral?

6. Do you think Mikey and Sam are oblivious to their father’s “darkness” as Mia thinks?

7. If Mia’s parents weren’t wealthy, she’d be in bigger trouble when trying to extract herself from her marriage. If Mia’s parents weren’t wealthy, Paul would not have been interested in marrying her in the first place. What do you think of that dichotomy?

8. Paul implies that he was abused as a child. Does this justify or account for his behavior as an adult?

9. Do you feel sorry for Paul’s mom? Why or why not?

10. What motivates Buck? Is he more than just a protector? What does he symbolize in the story?

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Need to augment the book discussion with something else
by [email protected] (see profile) 12/02/17
This book does not have enough depth to carry a full discussion. Maybe learning the card game Paul and Mia played when at Greg's would be fun. Pizza would be a fun food choice

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by dbublik (see profile) 02/27/19

 
  "Have a few hours free!"by coastwalker (see profile) 12/27/18

I started this book on a Saturday afternoon and became so engrossed that I did not put it down until the wee hours of the morning when I finished it!
Twists and turns galore!
















... (read more)

 
  "Best day Ever"by [email protected] (see profile) 12/02/17

This book had a good plot, but only the main character was fully developed. I would have enjoyed learning more about Mia, Buck, and even some of the other characters in the book.

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...