BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Dramatic,
Dark,
Addictive

6 reviews

Watching Edie
by Camilla Way

Published: 2016-08-02
Hardcover : 304 pages
4 members reading this now
5 clubs reading this now
2 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 6 of 6 members
For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train: A dazzling work of psychological suspense that weaves together the past and present of two women’s twisted friendship.
 
Beautiful, creative, a little wild… Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into ...
No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train: A dazzling work of psychological suspense that weaves together the past and present of two women’s twisted friendship.
 
Beautiful, creative, a little wild… Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into your life. And she had dreams back then—but it didn’t take long for her to learn that things don’t always turn out the way you want them to.
 
Now, at thirty-three, Edie is working as a waitress, pregnant and alone. And when she becomes overwhelmed by the needs of her new baby and sinks into a bleak despair, she thinks that there’s no one to turn to…
 
But someone’s been watching Edie, waiting for the chance to prove once again what a perfect friend she can be. It’s no coincidence that Heather shows up on Edie’s doorstep, just when Edie needs her the most. So much has passed between them—so much envy, longing, and betrayal. And Edie’s about to learn a new lesson: those who have hurt us deeply—or who we have hurt—never let us go, not entirely…

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

AFTER
Outside my kitchen window the long afternoon empties of light. I look at London stretched out far below, my dripping hands held poised above the sink. The doorbell rings, one long high peal; the broken intercom vibrates. The view from up here, it’s incredible, as if you’re flying. Deptford and Greenwich, New Cross and Erith, then the river, and beyond that there’s the Gherkin, over there the Shard. From my top-floor flat here on Telegraph Hill, you can see forever and as usual it calms me, soothes me: how big it is, how small I am, how far from where I used to be. ... view entire excerpt...

Discussion Questions

1. WATCHING EDIE alternates between Edie and Heather’s perspectives. Edie’s perspective is from the present as an adult while Heather’s is from the past as a teenager. Why do you think the author chose to write from two different perspectives and time periods? Did you identify with one character more than the other?

2. Both Edie and Heather have complicated relationships with their mothers whose guidance, or lack thereof, directly impacts their decisions. What do you think this says about the dynamic between mothers and daughters? Do you think that Edie would have been a good mother to Maya?

3. Heather calls Edie cruel because of what happened with Connor. Do you agree with that assessment? How would you classify Edie’s treatment of Heather in other moments of their relationship?

4. A case can be made that both Heather and Edie are Connor’s victims. Do you agree? Does that change how you view their actions?

5. The story explores different kinds of love, including the love between mothers and daughters, between romantic partners, and between friends. How would you describe Heather’s love for Edie?

6. Over the course of the novel it becomes clear that neither Edie nor Heather has been completely honest. Why do you think the author chose to make both main characters unreliable narrators? What role do you think truth plays in this story?

7. By the conclusion of the novel Heather reveals how angry she is with Edie for what happened when they were teenagers. Why do you think Heather helps Edie when she is suffering from postpartum depression? What is her motivation?

8. The clocks that Heather’s father maintains are mentioned throughout the novel. Heather explains that although there are so many clocks in their house, for her and her family, time freezes after Lydia’s death. When Heather’s parents separate, her father stops winding the clocks and Heather mourns their silence. What do you think the clocks signify? What do you make of Edie’s reactions to the clocks?

9. Monica’s offer of friendship is a turning point for Edie. Edie closed herself off emotionally after what happened with Heather and Connor, yet Monica remains open even after the abusive relationship with her husband. Why is it important that Edie tries to save Monica? What makes this situation different from what happened with Heather?

10. Female relationships are obviously the focal point of this novel, but the male characters are inextricably involved in the plot and in influencing Edie and Heather’s actions and decisions. What are the different ways in which Connor, James, Phil, Heather’s father, and Edie’s uncle impact Edie and Heather’s lives?

11. Monica's sons Ryan and Billy are from a troubled background yet still grow up loving and grounded. How do they compare to Connor and his friends? Why do you think Connor turned out the way he did, and what do you think was his ultimate motivation regarding Heather?

12. Edie’s art can be seen as a symbol of her potential and as a means for her to escape her unhappy life. Why do you think Edie stopped drawing? Why do you think she starts again when James and Monica come into her life?

13. Edie is willing to sacrifice herself to save her daughter’s life. Do you think that Edie has redeemed herself by the end of the novel? Were you satisfied with the ending?

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by Susans421 (see profile) 01/14/17

 
  "Watching Edie"by dor53 (see profile) 01/11/17

A dark, suspenseful page turner. Wanted more when I finished reading the final chapter and its unexpected ending.

 
  "Watching Edie "by Michelazach (see profile) 01/11/17

This was a quick read, kept you guessing till the very end. Overall I enjoyed reading this book.

 
  "Great Read"by lflan12 (see profile) 01/11/17

Our book club won copies of Watching Edie, and we were excited to read it. It did not disappoint. The book was well-written, and suspenseful. None of us were able to guess the plot twist which is always... (read more)

 
  "Watching Edie"by KJmellen (see profile) 03/22/17

This book keeps you guessing who it the good/bad character throughout. Suspenseful and surprising.

 
  "Watching Edie"by Silversolara (see profile) 08/10/16


Heather and Edie. Friends since high school but total opposites.

Heather was the studious, compliant one. Edie was not interested in school and was rebellious.

Heather and Edie met




... (read more)

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...