BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Confusing,
Optimistic,
Inspiring

2 reviews

A Window Opens: A Novel
by Elisabeth Egan

Published: 2015-08-25
Hardcover : 384 pages
5 members reading this now
9 clubs reading this now
1 member has read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 1 of 2 members
“Egan’s delightful debut is a fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all.” —People

*People, Summer’s Best Books*Entertainment Weekly, 8 Big Fat Beach Reads*Woman’s Day, Great Summer Reads*Publishers Weekly, Best Summer Books*Good Housekeeping, Your Ultimate ...
No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

“Egan’s delightful debut is a fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all.” —People

*People, Summer’s Best Books*Entertainment Weekly, 8 Big Fat Beach Reads*Woman’s Day, Great Summer Reads*Publishers Weekly, Best Summer Books*Good Housekeeping, Your Ultimate Summer Reading List*Minneapolis Star Tribune, 10 Novels Not to Miss*Coastal Living, Great Summer Reads *Time Out New York, Summer Reading List*Goop Newsletter, Best Summer ’15 Reading*

Fans of I Don’t Know How She Does It and Where’d You Go, Bernadette will cheer at this “fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all” (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny—only to learn every opportunity comes at a price.

In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which she never refers to as “wearing many hats” and wishes you wouldn’t, either). She is a mostly-happily married mother of three, an attentive daughter, an ambivalent dog-owner, a part-time editor, a loyal neighbor and a Zen commuter. She is not: a cook, a craftswoman, a decorator, an active PTA member, a natural caretaker or the breadwinner. But when her husband makes a radical career change, Alice is ready to lean in—and she knows exactly how lucky she is to land a job at Scroll, a hip young start-up which promises to be the future of reading, with its chain of chic literary lounges and dedication to beloved classics. The Holy Grail of working mothers?an intellectually satisfying job and a happy personal life?seems suddenly within reach.

Despite the disapproval of her best friend, who owns the local bookstore, Alice is proud of her new “balancing act” (which is more like a three-ring circus) until her dad gets sick, her marriage flounders, her babysitter gets fed up, her kids start to grow up and her work takes an unexpected turn. Readers will cheer as Alice realizes the question is not whether it’s possible to have it all, but what does she?Alice Pearse?really want?

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

No discussion questions at this time.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Liane Moriarty's What Alice Forgot is written in a much more entertaining way. It is also about a busy mom who loses sight of what's important.
by Grandmarose (see profile) 10/21/15

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
  "A Window Opens"by bkmnmpl (see profile) 08/20/16

While the title is a jumping off point, Egan does not belabor the aphorism. I thoroughly enjoyed this read about how life changes when we least expect it. Alice, the main character, is a true example... (read more)

 
  "A Window Opens"by Grandmarose (see profile) 10/21/15

Our rating was actually 2.5. We did not dislike the book but didn't feel that it rang true in some ways. It was exhausting to read about how Alice handled her full time job and her responsibilities as... (read more)

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...