BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Informative,
Insightful,
Epic

2 reviews

The Bridal Chair: A Novel
by Gloria Goldreich

Published: 2015-03-03
Paperback : 496 pages
3 members reading this now
7 clubs reading this now
1 member has read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 2 of 2 members

An exquisite, haunting exploration of the complex mind of Marc Chagall through the eyes of his daughter ? great for fans of Mrs. Poe and The Paris

"Filled with fascinating details about the art world and colorful real-life characters, this novel may appeal to historical fiction fans ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

An exquisite, haunting exploration of the complex mind of Marc Chagall through the eyes of his daughter ? great for fans of Mrs. Poe and The Paris

"Filled with fascinating details about the art world and colorful real-life characters, this novel may appeal to historical fiction fans who enjoyed Natasha Solomons's The House at Tyneford and Tatiana de Rosnay's Sarah's Key."?Library Journal

An exquisite, haunting exploration of the complex mind of Marc Chagall through the eyes of his daughter ? great for fans of Mrs. Poe and The Paris Wife

Beautiful Ida Chagall, the only daughter of Marc Chagall, is blossoming in the Paris art world beyond her father's controlling gaze. But her newfound independence is short-lived. In Nazi-occupied Paris, Chagall's status as a Jewish artist has made them all targets, yet his devotion to his art blinds him to their danger.

When Ida falls in love and Chagall angrily paints an empty wedding chair (The Bridal Chair) in response, she faces an impossible choice: Does she fight to forge her own path outside her father's shadow, or abandon her ambitions to save Chagall from his enemies and himself?
Brimming with historic personalities from Europe, America and Israel, The Bridal Chair is a stunning portrait of love, fortitude, and the sharp divide between art and real life.

"Only Gloria Goldreich could write a novel so grounded in historical truths yet so exuberantly imaginative. The Bridal Chair is Goldreich at her best, with a mesmerizing plot, elegant images, and a remarkable heroine who...will remain with you long after the last page."?Francine Klagsburn, Jewish Week columnist and acclaimed author of Voices of Wisdom

"In prose as painterly and evocative as Chagall's own dazzling brushstrokes, Gloria Goldreich finely evokes one of the most significant masters of modern art through the discerning eyes of [his] loyally protective daughter."?Cynthia Ozick, award-winning author of Foreign Bodies

Wife

Beautiful Ida Chagall, the only daughter of Marc Chagall, is blossoming in the Paris art world beyond her father's controlling gaze. But her newfound independence is short-lived. In Nazi-occupied Paris, Chagall's status as a Jewish artist has made them all targets, yet his devotion to his art blinds him to their danger.

When Ida falls in love and Chagall angrily paints an empty wedding chair (The Bridal Chair) in response, she faces an impossible choice: Does she fight to forge her own path outside her father's shadow, or abandon her ambitions to save Chagall from his enemies and himself?
Brimming with historic personalities from Europe, America and Israel, The Bridal Chair is a stunning portrait of love, fortitude, and the sharp divide between art and real life.

"Only Gloria Goldreich could write a novel so grounded in historical truths yet so exuberantly imaginative. The Bridal Chair is Goldreich at her best, with a mesmerizing plot, elegant images, and a remarkable heroine who...will remain with you long after the last page."?Francine Klagsburn, Jewish Week columnist and acclaimed author of Voices of Wisdom

"In prose as painterly and evocative as Chagall's own dazzling brushstrokes, Gloria Goldreich finely evokes one of the most significant masters of modern art through the discerning eyes of [his] loyally protective daughter."?Cynthia Ozick, award-winning author of Foreign Bodies

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

Suggested by Members

Author Goldreich paints Marc Chagall as a “narcissist" …do you agree? What are the primary personality traits of a narcissist? Discuss narcissism and Narcissist Personality Disorder.
What was the significance of Chagall’s paintings with Jewish themes? What was his fascination with Christian symbols in his crucifixion paintings? How did religion influence Chagall’s paintings and his life?
Is it appropriate for an adult daughter to pose in the nude regularly for her father? Are there differences in how the European culture looks at nudity as compared to America?
by seashell723 (see profile) 04/29/17

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

informative
by 56F2C2 (see profile) 09/05/18
family values, facing reality
Do research on Marc Chagall
by seashell723 (see profile) 04/29/17
Research Marc's paintings, glass work, ceramics, etc. Also look up relevant dates in Marc's and Ida's history. The book was sadly lacking in any dates that would clarify the period.

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by 56F2C2 (see profile) 09/05/18

 
  "The Bridal Chair"by seashell723 (see profile) 04/29/17

The Bridal Chair was a wonderful inspiration for us to study the art and life of Marc Chagall...absolutely fascinating. We enjoyed the book, but wanted more of Marc. Also the first half was repetitious... (read more)

 
by cgaber1 (see profile) 03/09/17

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...