BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Fun,
Romantic,
Dramatic

4 reviews

Austenland: A Novel
by Shannon Hale

Published: 2008-05-27
Paperback : 208 pages
3 members reading this now
15 clubs reading this now
1 member has read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 3 of 4 members

Jane is a young New York woman who can never seem to find the right man?perhaps because of her secret obsession with Mr. Darcy, as played by Colin Firth in the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. When a wealthy relative bequeaths her a trip to an English resort catering to ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

Jane is a young New York woman who can never seem to find the right man?perhaps because of her secret obsession with Mr. Darcy, as played by Colin Firth in the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. When a wealthy relative bequeaths her a trip to an English resort catering to Austen-obsessed women, however, Jane's fantasies of meeting the perfect Regency-era gentleman suddenly become more real than she ever could have imagined. Is this total immersion in a fake Austenland enough to make Jane kick the Austen obsession for good, or could all her dreams actually culminate in a Mr. Darcy of her own?
Don't miss Shannon Hale's next book, Midnight in Austenland, a mystery set at Pemberly available in February, 2012.

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

No discussion questions at this time.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
  "Austenland"by tiffy121380 (see profile) 04/12/13

This book was a very light read and absolutely fun! The idea of getting away to experience a different era and to become emerged in it is truly amazing. I would definitely suggest this to all Jane Austen... (read more)

 
  "Not for our club"by yellowallpaperclub (see profile) 08/13/10

We had trouble getting members of our club to read it because we usually read much higher caliber books.

 
  "Fun Romantic Quick-Read"by shortstallings (see profile) 07/03/09

Great story - it really helps to be a fan of the BBC Pride and Prejudice, or at least watch it before you read.

 
  "Austenland"by niferwolfe (see profile) 05/11/09

This is the perfect escpae book for fans of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice BBC program.

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...