BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Interesting,
Dramatic,
Confusing

23 reviews

The Lace Reader: A Novel
by Brunonia Barry

Published: 2009-08-18
Paperback : 416 pages
1 member reading this now
78 clubs reading this now
3 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 20 of 23 members
In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely ...
No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic < ?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />Salem family who can foretell the future in patterns of lace. The Lace Reader was a runaway New York Times bestseller—hitting the top lists in major cities across the country, from Boston to Chicago to Los Angeles—and has immediately established debut author Brunonia Barry as a major force in contemporary American fiction.

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

Suggested by Members

Where does reality and fantasy meet in Towner's story?
When someone tells you they lie all of the time can you believe anything they say?
Why did Eva's decision to swim to the moon release Towner?
by TerryS (see profile) 08/23/10

Our Book Club loved this book! We had the author Brunonia call in to our meeting. She answered so many of our questions and convinced us to plan a Girls Weekend to Salem!
by lollygil (see profile) 01/28/10

Discuss more of how the characters Towner and Lindley relate to Cal and how that affects the underlying story of Lace Reader.
by picovitt (see profile) 01/20/10

rabbit holes and tunnels
What is the effect of an unreliable narrator?
by bethmbg (see profile) 09/11/09

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by tmurphy (see profile) 03/15/16

 
  "Get Ready to Be Surprised"by critzyj (see profile) 01/07/14

This is the second time I've read this book. I enjoyed it the first time, but just had to read it again because the ending is a surprise and I just didn't know where I missed the "turn" that led to the... (read more)

 
  "The Lace Reader"by llorton (see profile) 11/20/13

Most in our Book Club felt it was hard to get into and boring. Those who persevered liked the ending!

 
  "The Lace Reader"by susanbeamon (see profile) 06/10/13

This book can be read in two ways, as a novel and as a mystery. I read it as a novel and so was surprised by the ending more than I would have been had I engaged the book as a mystery. Without spoilers,... (read more)

 
  "The Lace Reader"by ChrisA (see profile) 06/07/13

A slow-paced drama set in Salem MA. yet the last 50 pp is a wild ride, and unveiling of secrets. Wonderful description of the locale, some history thrown in also, interesting characters, wounded souls,... (read more)

 
  "The Lace Reader"by mistyviolet (see profile) 12/26/12

The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry

The Lace Reader begins with an interesting premise, but quickly bogs down in fairly incomprehensible detail of lace reading. Towner is a beguiling chara

... (read more)

 
  "She's a liar"by ebach (see profile) 09/01/11

THE LACE READER by Brunonia Barry begins with the narrator, Towner Whitney, calling herself a liar and warning the reader to suspect everything she says. So you have to wonder as the book pr... (read more)

 
  "Need to have book club discussion first."by vrtikapa (see profile) 05/27/11

 
  "The Lace Reader"by trin7775 (see profile) 04/20/11

While interesting and certainly compelling enough to finish, I was a bit confused throughout the entire book. However, as the narrator points out, half of what she says is a lie, so I guess I was forewarned!... (read more)

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...