BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Interesting,
Beautiful,
Romantic

4 reviews

The All of It: A Novel
by Jeannette Haien

Published: 2011-06-07
Paperback : 145 pages
2 members reading this now
8 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 4 of 4 members

JeannetteHaien’s award-winning first novel relates theseemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangledconfession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not onlythe clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

JeannetteHaien’s award-winning first novel relates theseemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangledconfession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not onlythe clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien’s intimate novel of conversations anddilemmas—perfect for readers of Paul Harding’s Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead, and Flannery O’Connor’sWise Blood—is “an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale ofmorality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way” (NewYork Times Book Review).Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition withan introduction by Ann Patchett.

Editorial Review

Soaked by a miserable rain, Father Declan de Lowry swats midges and unsuccessfully casts for salmon while mulling the deathbed confession of a parishioner from the tiny Irish village of Roonatellin. The good priest is frantic to know why Kevin Dennehy refused to the end to marry Enda, who lived as his wife for decades with none suspecting their sin. When pressed, Kevin would only say, "there's some explanations that get you nowhere." That leaves it to Enda, an Irish Scheherazade, to breathlessly tell Father "the all of it," a wild, eyebrow-raising tale that meanders like sheep on the narrow roads. Her enthusiasm and Jeannette Haien's musical, evocative phrasing sweep this winning, humorous novel along.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

No discussion questions at this time.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Food and drink
by kcleeds (see profile) 12/18/13
Salmon, oat cakes, and a touch of Jameson's might be on the menu - but there are so many choices that would fit the bill.

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by Radine B. (see profile) 01/19/17

 
by KAREN H. (see profile) 01/19/17

 
by Nancy F. (see profile) 08/12/14

 
  "It's All Good"by Kathy L. (see profile) 12/18/13

This little gem has just been republished and thank heavens! Salmon fishing in rural Ireland and the confessions of an elderly parishioner are just the framework of a touching, sweet, and truly beautiful... (read more)

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...