BKMT READING GUIDES

The Memory of Love: A Novel
by Linda Olsson

Published: 2013-02-26
Kindle Edition : 240 pages
4 members reading this now
3 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 2 of 2 members
From the beloved author of Astrid & Veronika, a moving tale of friendship and redemption

Fans of Astrid & Veronika and Chris Cleave's Little Bee will be thrilled to read Linda Olsson's third novel. Here is Olsson doing what she does best: illuminating the terrain of friendship and ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

From the beloved author of Astrid & Veronika, a moving tale of friendship and redemption

Fans of Astrid & Veronika and Chris Cleave's Little Bee will be thrilled to read Linda Olsson's third novel. Here is Olsson doing what she does best: illuminating the terrain of friendship and examining the many forms that love can take.

Marion Flint, in her early fifties, has spent fifteen years living a quiet life on the rugged coast of New Zealand, a life that allows the door to her past to remain firmly shut. But a chance meeting with a young boy, Ika, and her desire to help him force Marion to open the Pandora’s box of her memory. Seized by a sudden urgency to make sense of her past, she examines each image one-by-one: her grandfather, her mother, her brother, her lover. Perhaps if she can create order from the chaos, her memories will be easier to carry. Perhaps she’ll be able to find forgiveness for the little girl that was her. For the young woman she had been. For the people she left behind.

Olsson expertly interweaves scenes from Marion’s past with her quest to save Ika from his own tragic childhood, and renders with reflective tenderness the fragility of memory and the healing power of the heart.

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

No discussion questions at this time.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Party
by lollygil (see profile) 04/25/13
We bought New Zealand wine, ginger beer, and served sweet potato chips, New Zealand Mussels in wine sauce, Fish and Chips, Shrimp and served New Zealand Cheese and crackers. For dessert we had cheesecake, kiwi-fruit and Azanac biscuits.

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
  "Memory of Love"by wandapatterson (see profile) 02/18/14

Didn't want to put it down. Interesting story that kept you interested.

 
  "New Zealand "by lollygil (see profile) 04/25/13

Our book club loved this short read. It was a heavy discussion book and we spent a lot of time discussing. We had a New Zealand Kiwi Party to round out the theme.

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...