BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Insightful,
Optimistic,
Interesting

3 reviews

Black Water Rising: A Novel
by Attica Locke

Published: 2009-06-01
Hardcover : 448 pages
6 members reading this now
5 clubs reading this now
3 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 2 of 3 members

Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Greg Iles, Attica Locke, a powerful new voice in American fiction, delivers a brilliant debut thriller that readers will not soon forget.

Jay Porter is hardly the lawyer he set out to be. His most promising client is a low-rent call girl ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

(

Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Greg Iles, Attica Locke, a powerful new voice in American fiction, delivers a brilliant debut thriller that readers will not soon forget.

Jay Porter is hardly the lawyer he set out to be. His most promising client is a low-rent call girl and he runs his fledgling law practice out of a dingy strip mall. But he's long since made peace with not living the American Dream and carefully tucked away his darkest sins: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him.

Houston, Texas, 1981. It is here that Jay believes he can make a fresh start. That is, until the night in a boat out on the bayou when he impulsively saves a woman from drowning?and opens a Pandora's box. Her secrets put Jay in danger, ensnaring him in a murder investigation that could cost him his practice, his family, and even his life. But before he can get to the bottom of a tangled mystery that reaches into the upper echelons of Houston's corporate power brokers, Jay must confront the demons of his past.

With pacing that captures the reader from the first scene through an exhilarating climax, Black Water Rising marks the arrival of an electrifying new talent.

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

Suggested by Members

Politics of the time.
by gourmet (see profile) 04/01/10

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Our club was able to have the author join us in person. She was amazing!
by gourmet (see profile) 04/01/10
We had food from the book. I took macaroni and cheese.

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
  "Black Water Rising"by candlequeen94 (see profile) 02/18/13

I thought that the book was too confusing. It had too many plots going on at the same time and in different time periods. Even the ending was too vague for me. I did not enjoy the book and would not... (read more)

 
  "I found the main character's inner dialogue very interesting and relate-able. Optimistic outcome."by Edithmv (see profile) 07/07/11

 
  "Black Water Rising"by gourmet (see profile) 04/01/10

This book takes place in and around Houston, Texas. The hero or main character of the book is very adventurous and somewhat insightful. As a reader, I got very absorbed into what adventures... (read more)

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...