Barefoot: A Novel
by Elin Hilderbrand
Paperback- $10.83

Three women arrive at the local airport, observed by Josh, a Nantucket native home from college for the summer. Burdened with small children, ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Barefoot: A Novel" by skarohlid (see profile) 06/10/09

A novel about 3 women, each with their own problems, who spend the summer together in a beach house. The story is interesting but somewhat predictable. I would consider this a good 'summer, laying on the beach' book.

 
  "Barefoot by Elin Hilderbrand" by fearless (see profile) 06/11/09

It was very easy reading. I would like to see Nantucket someday. I would read another book by this author.

 
  "thoughtful and humerous - a good read" by CinCrook (see profile) 10/16/09

 
  "I loved it" by mylife580 (see profile) 09/28/10

 
  "Not one of my favorites" by deb17866 (see profile) 08/01/11

A grown woman having an affair with a teenage boy is not my idea of entertainment. The characters lacked character.

 
  "Barefoot" by whaagenson (see profile) 08/20/11

This is a story of three women at a crossroads in their lives. They come together to support each other, while trying to escape from their problems in their respective lives. Their behaviors are, at times, understandable, frustrating, and heart-warming. I enjoyed their journeys as individuals, and as three women trying to figure out what they mean to each other.

 
  "Barefoot" by bandjoy (see profile) 09/20/11

I just expected more from the ending than possible cliffhangers for the 3 major characters after 400 pages.

 
  "Three messed up women sort out their lives" by msharry (see profile) 12/13/11

Good relationship-between-women book brings three women: a mother of young children dealing with cancer, a pregnant woman whose husband left her for someone else and a professor fired for an affair with an older student. They alternately irritate and support each other, -all growing and changing. Escapism---into someone else's problems. Josh the babysitter gives his own brand of comfort and support to all.

 
  "Barefoot" by beatricefalu (see profile) 02/08/15

Great story about family, friends, love, fear, bravery and strength. Worth reading and great for review and discussion.

Thumbs Up

 
  "Really good read" by ecarbonell940 (see profile) 02/09/15

This book made me appreciate life, family and friends.

 
  "Happily Surprised" by Odalia (see profile) 02/11/15

This book was slightly slow to begin for me, but once I got passed the beginning pages, it was a fun read! I enjoyed the different perspectives of the main characters, and the interesting relationships developed b/w them. Definitely a book worth reading :-)

 
  "Barefoot " by Leaustin1 (see profile) 07/20/15

An entertaining, easy beach read.

 
  "Great summer read!" by schultzmom (see profile) 07/21/15

 
  "Book evolved" by Kathryneisen (see profile) 03/19/16

Initially this book had a lot of irritating characters who evolved into more understandable and in some cases more likable people. The romance was off putting to some of us - clearly a strange coming together of two people not meant to be together

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/29/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/27/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...