Their Eyes Were Watching God (Virago Modern Classics)
by Zora Neale Hurston
Paperback- N/A

"Belongs in the category ... of enduring American literature." Saturday Review Fair and long-legged, independent and articulate, Janie ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Their Eyes Were Watching God" by wendybrumbaugh (see profile) 08/11/10

The difficulty for me in reading this book was the vernacular language used in the dialog, much more difficult than that used in "The Help". The story was still an interesting and insightful look into the life of a turn of the century black woman.

 
  "keep reading past the first 2 chapters" by nmjm4me (see profile) 10/15/10

It is hard to get into this book, partially because the language style is so different. But once you get past the first few chapters, it is easy to read and very enjoyable.

 
  "Boring but interesting from historical for Eatonville." by lyndapiercy (see profile) 10/15/10

This book was interesting to me only from a historical background of what it might be for the "negros" (to use the author's words) in our area in the 1930's. I learned what it might have been like in that neighborhood which reminded me of LITTLE HOUSE ON THE PRAIRE.

 
  "Their Eyes were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston" by LMCamp (see profile) 10/16/10

At first is was a little slow & hard to read, but I was intrigued by enough of the story to keep reading. It got better and more interesting the more I read.

 
  "Their Eyes were Watching God" by ktlown (see profile) 10/28/10

Interesting to read a period time piece at the brink of the feminist movement and one written by such a prominent African American author.

 
  "THEIR EYES WERE WATCHING GOD" by ncjn5 (see profile) 03/11/12

This book was very discriptive, but was hard to get into and read because of the dialect.

 
  "THEIR EYES WERE WATCHING GOD" by wileygreen (see profile) 12/06/13

Made for a lot of discussion in our club, using discussion questions and summaries and analysis from Sparks notes. Some understood it right away and loved the vernacular from the South; others skimmed the first 5 chapters and enjoyed the book better with the narrator telling the story. Good themes, symbols and plot.

 
  "Their Eyes Were Watching God" by sisters4 (see profile) 12/09/13

Slow for the first few chapters, almost didn't read it. I was encouraged by other book club members to keep going and I'm glad I did.

 
  "" by malliettjm (see profile) 10/20/14

 
  ""Their Eyes Were Watching God"" by MikiLea (see profile) 02/26/15

Our book club agreed that this book is on our list of all time favorites.

 
  "Their eyes were watching God" by streeter (see profile) 02/26/15

Beautiful and unique wording in this book!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/10/15

 
  "A classic American story everyone should read." by [email protected] (see profile) 02/17/17

Your Eyes Were Watching God is a beautifully written sorry of the journey to self-hood and empowerment as experienced by a black woman living in the early 1900s in Florida.

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...