We Never Asked for Wings: A Novel
by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
Hardcover- $9.57

From the beloved New York Times bestselling author of The Language of Flowers comes her much-anticipated new novel about young love, hard ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "" by kimari (see profile) 01/20/16

 
  "Loved it" by awr115 (see profile) 01/21/16

liked the characters and the story. Many different themes weaved in - immigration, young love, single parent, etc. I recommended it to several people . Her other book The Language of Flowers was also great - really like this authors style

 
  "" by Pletnes (see profile) 04/20/16

 
  "Eh...Disappointed" by piper0922 (see profile) 05/24/16

2 stars & I feel like that's generous.
Perhaps I'm disappointed because I enjoyed The Language of Flowers so much more than I enjoyed this one.
There isn't much character development & the plot is predictable.
The dialogue between characters is basic & boring.
There is not a single sentence in this book that is beautifully crafted. Nor is there a single line in the book that causes you to pause & think about the characters & their situations. Not a single one.
Everything feels shallow & too easy.
The book attempts to address the issue of illegal immigration & the effects it has on those living in the US illegally as well as their friends & family members...but it does so very poorly.
It's also a very inaccurate portrayal of single motherhood. I've yet to meet a single mom who has 2 responsible men in her life solving all of her problems.
Letty's parents return to Mexico & leave her to raise her kids.
Instead of Letty developing into a responsible mother...Wes & Rick swoop in to solve all of her problems.
This is a book that addresses very serious issues...in a very unrealistic manner.
But...if you're looking for a quick & easy read with an unrealistically happy ending...this book meets the requirements.

 
  "" by nuthatch903 (see profile) 06/01/16

 
  "Wings is a book you will fly through" by dianagraalum (see profile) 07/21/16

I enjoyed the characters. Though I cannot understand Letty not telling Wes she was pregnant; and for so many years.

 
  "" by l0ve2READ (see profile) 09/01/16

 
  "" by KimReid (see profile) 04/07/17

 
  "Topical fiction" by ccoyne (see profile) 04/19/17

A dramatic story of motherhood, family and the lives of undocumented immigrants. Letty is a 33 year-old mother of 2 who has allowed her children to be raised by her parents while she works 3 jobs. When her parents suddenly decide to return to live in Mexico, Letty is finally forced to be a mother to 13 year-old Alex and 6 year-old Luna. How can she provide them with a good life when she has only a high school education? How can she be a parent all on her own? Along the way, Alex risks everything for the love of his girlfriend, an illegal immigrant. Letty must finally grow up herself so that she raise her children. This is a heartfelt story about a mother searching for a way to give her children the American Dream.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/02/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/14/20

 
  "The choices we make" by lpollinger (see profile) 07/30/20

Letty has been a mother for fifteen years, but her mother had taken over the job of raising her children, now however she must do it herself and she has no idea how. This is a fabulous story of love, hope and the hard choices we are sometimes forced to make.
If you are part of a book club this would be a wonderful choice.

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...