Infidel
by Ayaan Hirsi Ali
Hardcover- $14.99

In this profoundly affecting memoir from the internationally renowned author of The Caged Virgin, Ayaan Hirsi Ali tells her astonishing ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "We had a great conversation with this one." by danicaart (see profile) 07/11/07

I enjoyed the book, it definitely made me think and evaluate the culture that I was brought up in.

 
  "Her story is fascinating, and the issues she raises make for good discussion and debate." by k_kletter (see profile) 08/05/07

 
  "Great story, great discussion!" by arielmerm8 (see profile) 08/08/07

This book raised a lot of interesting topics and had us in very animated discussions. Her story is so compelling, and her struggles, both with "the world" and internally, kept you reading.

 
  "Terrific, eye-opening look into women and Islam" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/17/07

I would not hesitate to recommend this book to anyone. The reason I gave it three stars rather than five is simply that our group quickly came to the same conclusions. Because we all agreed on so many aspects, the discussion was more limited than I had expected.

 
  "Provocative" by shortstallings (see profile) 12/05/07

This book stays with you. One of the most memorable books I have ever read. I admire Ayaan - who couldn't? She is one of the strongest women I have ever read about - fiction and non-fiction combined.

 
  "Challenged what I thought I knew about many things." by dignandm (see profile) 03/08/08

This is a book about cultural survival, at once heartbreaking and inspiring. I could not stop thinking about it. My perception of many things has changed. In the old question, if you could have dinner with one person, who would it be?.. Ali just might be the one.

 
  "Good basis for discussion" by sheilafri (see profile) 06/18/08

The book opens a variety of topics, many of particular interest to women, for discussion.

 
  "Interesting and pertinent to current events." by bcarroll (see profile) 10/06/08

Almost every person in our book club rated this as a 10 or 9. It was interesting and intense all the way through. The author of this book is facinating, brave, and intelligent. The author grew up in Islamic cultures mosly in Africa and grew to question her religion and way of life, where doing so can be a death sentence. She escaped to Holland where she was eventually, amazingly, voted to the Dutch Parliament. You can find interviews with her on the internet and up to date information about her whereabouts and way of life now.

 
  "Infidel by Ayaan Hirsi Ali" by amundsen03 (see profile) 05/28/09

This is a fascinating book that lets us see inside a different culture that is coming closer to all of us today. I can't say that I 'enjoyed' the book but I could not put it down. Easily read and provokes thought and discussion.

 
  "Great Discussion" by suebooksri (see profile) 06/15/09

We had one of our best discussions ever with this book. Really well written and totally amazing. Really opens your eyes to life as a woman outside the US.

 
  "Great Discussion" by cjb (see profile) 09/15/09

 
  "Good Book" by chazzababe81 (see profile) 03/23/10

I enjoyed this book. Although it took me a little while to get into it, by the time I did and focused on it, i really enjoyed it. It had great detail of places and locations and also a lot of history.

 
  "Informative" by lpgraupmann (see profile) 05/09/10

What inspiring woman. I would love to have her at my book club.

 
  "Great insight into another culture" by SharonBrower (see profile) 09/01/10

Amazing story of what she overcame and what's it's like to be a moslem in the Middle East and Africa.

 
  "Infidel" by shirleydavid (see profile) 09/28/10

This book changed my understanding of Islam.

 
  "I would so recommend this book..it was so eye opening, an amazing story of one womans strength. Inspiring." by lamccormick (see profile) 10/18/10

 
  "You heard it directly from a Muslim woman" by efoster (see profile) 01/02/11

This woman's story is incredible by itself, but when considered to be the "norm" in many parts of the world, it is frightening! Be prepared for some unpleasantness (facts are not always pretty), but if you persist, you will be glad you did.

 
  "A whole world unknown to me..." by Stephani (see profile) 01/24/11

This has to be one of the most profound stories of a modern woman I've had the privelege of reading. She has become one of my heroes. What she and women like her have endured and to still find the courage to stand up for what she believes in is nothing short of amazing. The book truly made me feel as though I've taken advantage of everything in my life and world without thinking of what I could do with it to help others. She's inspirational and brilliant.

 
  "Recommending Infidel" by wlelke (see profile) 03/25/11

 
  "Infidel" by kruebel (see profile) 05/26/11

 
  "Powerful" by lmheft (see profile) 09/14/11

It was a powerful book, and some parts were difficult to read. For me, I found it amazing that this is still prevalent in this day and age.

 
  "Changed my thinking" by meredithds (see profile) 12/26/11

This book modified my views on Islam somewhat. I still feel sure that not all Muslims hate Christians and Jews, but Ali offers a perspective from inside the faith that I have to consider now. I believe so strongly in tolerance and freedom to choose your own beliefs. She paints a picture of a culture that rejects those ideas. I will be thinking about her story for a long time. I was already aware of the Islamic views on women's submission, but I found her story riveting.

 
  "Every Woman Should Read Infidel!" by KeaKiya (see profile) 01/09/12

As well as everyone else. Ayaan Hirsi Ali tells it like it is, intelligently, forthrightly, with passion yet with clarity. I want to meet her, a new hero of mine!

 
  "Ambition & Drive & Women's Rights" by akalota (see profile) 04/04/12

This book makes you thankful to be an American woman.

 
  "Infidel" by mantavk (see profile) 03/12/13

Well written journey of a Muslim girl describing her childhood and teen years abuse and her inspiring ability to go beyond what she once believed.

 
  "Infidel" by SMcFarland (see profile) 09/06/13

It is a true and transforming story. Every woman should read this book. It is right up there with books like The Lemon Tree by Sandy Tolan.

 
  "Infidel" by Squires (see profile) 11/16/13

The author describes her Somali background and culture with quotes from the Quran which utterly repress women and children. Her escape to Holland and commitment to exposing the harm being done to women and girl children in the practice of Islam is dramatic. Fortunately, not all Muslims interpret the Quran as she experienced. But the book made me think about that unique place where religion and culture intersect for harm or for good.

 
  "Needs a Thorough Edit" by retiredreaderNE (see profile) 11/18/13

While the topic is interesting, the writing is only average. The information about clans is very informative.

 
  "Infidel" by little-sweetums (see profile) 06/26/14

Everyone in my book club loved this book. Not an easy read, but very informative. In today\\\'s turbulent atmosphere in the middle east and Africa this is a must read.

 
  "Discussion inducing." by loghouseJD (see profile) 08/08/14

This book probably caused more discussion than any other we've read. We came away with 2 schools of thought. One, the author's, that the religion Islam and its "True Believers" must be opposed for any progress to be made for Muslim women. And two, that the author paints two broad a picture of the worlds 2nd largest religion and falls into the same trap as the "True Believers" and does no acknowledge the peaceful non-fanatical muslims.

 
  "" by CathUnit (see profile) 04/08/15

 
  "" by hyper79 (see profile) 05/10/16

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/22/18

 
  "" by PatDaniel (see profile) 02/26/20

 
  "" by krilljack (see profile) 07/04/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...