I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman
by Nora Ephron
Hardcover- $2.10

With her disarming, intimate, completely accessible voice, and dry sense of humor, Nora Ephron shares with us her ups and downs in I Feel ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Made me laugh out loud" by Hayley (see profile) 06/23/07

Despite her fame & great success, Nora Ephron is still very much a homegirl. You may need to be over 40 like me to get some of the humor, but I'd recommend it to anyone who needs a laugh or needs to know that there is someone out there who thinks like she does about the need to get a dog when your kids are teens so someone is happy to see you when you get home. It's also great if you need a book that you pick up & put down over several weeks/months.

 
  "Amusing book, preferred the chapters not strictly relating to aging" by scribread (see profile) 11/30/07

Amusing book. Not sure it would lead to much discussion in book club but I could be totally wrong about that. Particularly enjoyed the chapter on love of books/reading, On Rapture, and the words about tracking down a favorite food,
The Lost Strudel of Le Strudel Perdu.

 
  "I Feel Bad about My Neck" by kimhalti (see profile) 01/13/10

A funny but true commentary on the challenges of aging gracefully, addressing "maintenance", parenting, "things I wish I'd known", and "the alternative", among a number of other subjects. We laughed a lot during our discussion.

 
  "I Feel Bad About My Neck" by kaysbookclub (see profile) 04/06/10

 
  "Self-indulgent and pointless" by jenniferharding (see profile) 01/10/11

This book wasn't horrible, but it wasn't good either. A self-indulgent collection of "essays" (if you can call them that) written by some rich, old, snob who I have nothing in common with. I didn't get most of the "humor." I didn't find the author to be particularly likeable. Her complaints about the time it takes to get a pedicure or her hair done don't win a lot of sympathy from a population of people who wish they had enough money for these things. I understand that many individuals won't put these pampering rituals high on their list of priorities. But essentially, because she lives in a world of wealthy, elitist snobs she is "forced" into these rituals that most of us value as a treat. Something special you do before a big night out with someone special or a vacation or something like that. It was annoying and this was a common theme throughout the entire book. "Poor me, I have so much money and it isn't fair." Boohoo. "I'm so sad that I had an amazing apartment in NYC and after twenty years they raised the rent to market value so I had to move to a slightly less fabulous apartment in NYC." Again, Boohoo.

Rather than essays, these are more random musings from a woman who feels incredibly important and wise. In reality, she is neither. I get the feeling she really felt like she had some life-altering wisdom to impart on the masses. But to me it really fell flat. I sensed in her prose the "pause" that comes with the telling of a punchline. But I had no chuckle in me. I really just didn't find her funny, entertaining, or particularly insightful. She rambles about the mundane (ie how her favorite bakery closed down and she can no longer get her favorite pastry) and passes them off as some sort of deep metaphor for life. I didn't get it. It all seemed very......pointless.

The best chapter/essay in the whole book was the last chapter. It is about aging as it relates to accepting death. Oddly enough, one of the things that bugged me about the book, (the fact that I was being forced to read a book whose target audience was thirty years older than myself) found a spot in my heart in the last chapter. She talks about getting to a certain age and realizing that everyone around you is dying. So that means you must be close to the end as well. She talks about losing her best friend. I got a little choked up. Perhaps this was Nora Ephron at her most human, which is why I ataully felt something while reading this chapter.

Overall I would advise others to skip this book. It's not funny. It is however a quick read. Which was probably it's most redeeming quality in the end.

 
  "Relaxing, easy read" by momma2gw (see profile) 01/11/11

This book was a good, fast, and easy read. You will also enjoy it if you can relate and associate things in your own life.

 
  "Nora Ephron Brings Humor to Life's Journeys" by RockinRenee (see profile) 04/25/12

If you enjoy the humor in films like When Harry Met Sally, Sleepless in Seattle, and You've Got Mail, you'll enjoy this book. Ephron manages to discuss the joys and sorrows of life in a way that is not preachy or cliche, but always with humor and optimism. She tackles everything from the pitfalls of aging to the ups and downs of mother to the chaos of a woman's purse. The writing reads like a personal journal (and is therefore a little disjointed), but it's interesting to see how a person's stream of consciousness works. I really enjoyed this book and most of the people in my bookclub enjoyed it too.

 
  "" by mizele (see profile) 06/22/16

 
  "" by refreem (see profile) 06/24/16

 
  "Nora speaks my mind" by LER (see profile) 04/08/17

Nora's keen observations coupled with her succinct wit make this a great read. There is much to identify with for those of us who lived through the 1960's and beyond. Loved it and highly recommend as antidote to facing life's ups and downs and taking comfort in that you are not alone.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/01/18

 
  "" by pfoust (see profile) 02/05/18

 
  "" by jcunningham (see profile) 06/25/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/31/19

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...