Not That I Could Tell: A Novel
by Jessica Strawser
Hardcover- $14.58

"Full of slow-burning intrigue, Strawser's second novel will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies and Jennifer Kitses' Small ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Not That I Could Tell" by Silversolara (see profile) 03/27/18



Women enjoying a care-free night, a night that turned into telling too many personal things, and then a morning that turned out badly.

The women of Yellow Springs and their specific neighborhood were all busy with work and children and enjoyed spending time with each other, but did they really know each other?

They all questioned themselves the morning that Kristin was found missing along with her twins, her mother's china, and a million dollars.

Her estranged husband moved right into the house and kept a vigil as he waited along with the neighborhood. Did he have anything to hide, was he the reason for Kristin's leaving, or did she leave for her own reasons?

The police questioned everyone in the neighborhood and school. Meanwhile two of the neighbors had some problems of their own. Clara had something in her past that still haunted her, and Izzy had her sister's husband as her problem.

We follow along as the police and the community try to figure out what would have made Kristin leave, where she is, and is she safe?

Each chapter was headed with statements that left obscure clues but clues that kept you guessing who the unidentified character was and what they had to do with the situation.

NOT THAT I COULD TELL moved smoothly along with enough hints at what may have happened, that you felt for the characters and wanted to be there to join in the investigation and in their lives.

NOT THAT I COULD TELL was an intriguing, tension-filled mystery that increased in intensity as the secrets and surprises were revealed along with other underlying themes.

If you enjoy guessing and wondering, you will enjoy Jessica Strawser's newest book. 4/5

The book was given to me as an Advanced Reader by the publisher. All opinions are my own.

 
  "Not That I Could Tell" by klarerm (see profile) 04/19/18

We all enjoyed the book because we live near Yellow Springs. It provided some discussion about neighbors and relationships but it wasn't a deep thinking book. You can get discussion questions.

 
  "Great summer read!" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/05/18

Great book!! Story of neighbors intermingled with family life, love, and a missing mother and her twins. Full of mystery, backstory, great characters, and strong women.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/13/19

This is the first “domestic thriller“that I have read. I was not convinced by the reactions and the character motivations. Some of the book was interesting.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/03/19

 
  "" by Ritagoodbooklately (see profile) 03/09/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/02/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/23/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/22/19

I have been in a reading slump for longer than I’d admit. Before this I read a disappointing book that almost put me back into a slump. I honestly bought this book because the cover was beautiful and the line about baby monitors and fire pits felt too relatable. Then I started reading the book and read it faster than any book I’ve read or attempted to read in probably five years (at least). This book was great, kept you hooked, and ended beautifully. Will definitely be reading more of Jessica Strawser in the future.

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...