The Rule of Four
by Ian Caldwell
Hardcover- N/A

A stunning first novel in the vein of Umberto Ecco and Dan Brown. Two friends find the key to the labyrinth that holds the secrets of an ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "I feel like I've spent the past week at Princeton...." by MississippiMom (see profile) 11/12/05

I picked up this book because everyone was comparing it to Dan Brown's "The Da Vinci Code" While I can see some similarities, I don't think it was as well written. I had trouble getting trough the first half... I kept thinking "is this all there is, these four boys struggling through Princeton?" The first half consists of a lot of character development and even more location development. But after the murder, things pick up and the book is hard to put down.

I would have like to have read more about Francesco Colonna and his trials and tribulations... I had never heard of the Hypnerotomachia Poliphili and this book certainly peaked my interest. Now I'll have to find a copy of the English translation and see what all the hoopla is about.

I would highly recommend this book for book clubs... great discussion material and I think it would appeal to a broad range of readers.

 
  "Rule of two - Not A Da Vinci Code Look a Like" by Wits-End (see profile) 08/09/06

This book was not very good and did not hold my interest. The book may make a good dicussion book but you must have people in your group who will continue to read the entire book even when it does not hold your interest.

If you looking for book with the action and interest as The Da Vinci Code, THIS IS NOT IT.

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...