The True Story of Hansel and Gretel
by Louise Murphy
Paperback- $8.78

A poignant and suspenseful retelling of a classic fairy tale set in a war-torn world, for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, We Were ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "A wonderful tale of survival during the nazi occupation - Truly Spellbinding" by Wendy56 (see profile) 09/26/07

Louise Murphy does a wonderful job of depicting a journey of survival for two children during the nazi occupation of Poland.

With good and evil on either end of the spectrum, you are riveted as the author pulls you from one side to the other. Although, the atrocities that occurred during this timeframe in history are hard to fathom, the perseverance of the human spirt is much to be admired.

 
  "A Grim Fairy Tale Fraught with Peril" by joyfulpie (see profile) 03/31/08

** spoiler alert ** So, I opened the book to a random page and was immediately immersed in the most brutal horrifying child mutilation I could stomach. This was for book club or would have promptly shelved it - with hope of washing the excerpt from my mind forever. However, starting from the beginning and enduring through, I realized this is becoming a bad taste in my mouth where I was left with the hope that in time it would finally become more palatable. . .

This was a HUGE 180 from my most recent WWII non-fiction, the 5 book series Children of the Promise by Dean Hughes, of which I highly recommend if you are in need of something redeeming.

 
  "historical fiction that may have more truth than we know" by melanieseibel (see profile) 10/07/08

A real pager turner that gives a different insight into the horrors the Jews experienced during their hiding in the Holocaust. This book makes you feel as though you are enduring their hardships and triumphs.

 
  "A Tale of Horror" by donnadeleon (see profile) 10/08/08

Everyone in our group found this disturbing to read, and some even skipped over parts or stopped reading entirely, but most agreed that the book was cleverly written to parallel the fairy tale and that the story was well told. The book generated excellent discussion and left everyone thinking! Not my favorite genre, but well worth reading.

 
  "" by Dammie4129 (see profile) 12/18/15

 
  "" by cygroschup (see profile) 04/21/17

New interpretation of a classic fairy tale. Beautifully written and will thought out. Horrific time period but bI looked the story.

 
  "" by krilljack (see profile) 07/04/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...