The Remains of the Day
by Kazuo Ishiguro
Paperback- $12.48

From the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature, here is the universally acclaimed novel—winner of the Booker Prize and the basis for an ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "The Remains of The Day" by PeggySue64 (see profile) 10/29/14

A story both beautiful and frustrating, as Stevens devotes his life to professional commitment and formality at the loss of intimate and loving relationships.

 
  "" by cmorsch (see profile) 01/12/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/26/17

The remains of my mind. That left me around page 60. I was hoping that Buffy and Jody would miraculously appear and slap some sense into Mr French.

Dignity is measured by patience. As in days of our lives, Like sand through an hourglass, I felt mine slipping away.

So I am looking forward to the next book with bated breath. As distinguished from baited breath, which is quite unpleasant. I’ve heard that the next Jack Reacher book is “a virtuoso performance...put on with dazzling daring and aplomb”

Remember if Elaine had too much grace, she wouldn’t be able to stand.

Happy Thanksgiving to all. When is the next meeting?

Alan Grad

 
  "" by KRoby (see profile) 04/11/18

 
  "Beautifully written, but very slow." by tompatrice (see profile) 07/21/18

Fascinating story of loyalty and service and misguided faithfulness to one’s superiors. Takes off where Downton Abby leaves off. but you must be patient with Stevens. He wanders and remembers in bits and pieces, but stay with it. Beautifully written and very, very understated.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/18/19

 
  "" by BeaSou (see profile) 02/16/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/05/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/25/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/28/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/29/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/24/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/04/23

 
  "" by donnacreamer (see profile) 05/11/23

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...