A Dog's Purpose
by W. Bruce Cameron
Hardcover- $13.88

This is the remarkable story of one endearing dog's search for his purpose over the course of several lives. More than just another ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Perfect read for all dog lovers and even those non dog lovers." by debralawleesmartin (see profile) 10/22/10

 
  "You will never look at your dog the same way!!!" by kristinerolf (see profile) 01/27/11

This is a wonderfully written book from a very intersting point of view. You will laugh and cry through the entire thing.

 
  "A Dog's Purpose" by terrisoderstrom (see profile) 02/05/11

Very insightful viewpoint of humans from a dog's perspective. Sad at times. If you have a dog it will make you appreciate him/her even more. My Golden is a definite "front seat dog".

 
  "Dog-gone good book!" by toni86 (see profile) 05/05/11

I loved this book. What a great job this writer did in "a dogs point of view"...wow! The many lives and jobs this dog lived learned and endured...what a special dog. I look at my dog in a whole new light. The depth also in this book was incredible. Very impressive. It gave a true undertanding of how a dog can know more about their owner then most people. Alot of it rang true to me,(an owner of dogs for as long as I can remember). If you are a dog lover...do not pass up on this book...you will not be let down...it'll make your tail wag!

 
  "Enjoyed this book so much!" by nancymanty (see profile) 08/10/11

Absolutely enjoyed this book.

 
  "very simplistic/childlike" by Netzel (see profile) 08/23/11

This book felt like it was written for about grade 6 children. Sweet story but not book club material by any means!

 
  "A dog's purpose" by fabiennepalu (see profile) 08/26/11

Awful, a complete waste of time and money!

 
  "A Dog's Purpose" by Megger (see profile) 01/29/12

Very easy read! We wanted something light after the holidays. This book takes a turn you don't expect and works it nicely.

 
  "A Dog's Purpose" by Subo551 (see profile) 02/09/12

A Dog's Purpose is written from the point of view of a dog. It is written with humor and insight as to how a dog might see human companionship. While this book is similar to The Art of Racing in the Rain, Bruce Cameron approaches his story from a different angle that keeps the reader wondering who will come next. I now look at my dogs and wonder if I can be the kind of owner they deserve.

 
  "A Dog's Purpose" by Lynn2 (see profile) 02/10/12

A touching and funny story. Any dog lover will appreciate this book.

 
  "A Dog's Purpose" by jmpainting (see profile) 02/27/12

Very touching, will make you want to hug your doggie!

 
  "A Dog's Purpose" by booksrfun (see profile) 03/07/12

I read this book in 48 hours. Could not put it down. A good read for anyone who has ever loved and lived with a pet. But, warning, have your tissues ready!

 
  "A Dog's Purpose" by RRReaders (see profile) 04/02/12

The story of a dog who keeps being reincarnated in order to find his purpose. Some parts were touching and even sad, but seeing the world through a dog's eyes was fascinating. The reader cheered for the dog in all its lives and ached when each life ended. Life with "his boy" and as a rescue dog were especially interesting. Our members had a lively discussion that included stories of special dogs in our lives.

 
  "A Dogs Purpose" by kimrichard (see profile) 04/11/12

We all loved this book. Great converstion. The view from a dog's perspective was fascinating and really makes you think about your own dogs...

 
  "A Dog's Purpose" by jlammers (see profile) 04/23/12

So interesting to see life and relationships from a dog's point of view.
Inspiring to see how the spirit of the dog could build on each of his (her) experiences.
Gives insight into the unconditional love of a dog for it's master.
Yes, I am and always have been a dog owner.
Can't wait for the sequel, 'A Dog's Journey'

 
  "Slow to get to the point" by awr115 (see profile) 05/18/12

Our group found this an easy read, but slow to get into the story. Good discussion on one's purpose following the book. We all agreed that dog owners/lovers enjoyed this book more than others.

 
  "Excellent Book!" by ajyoung (see profile) 09/11/12

I would highly recommend this book and actually have to several people. It's a wonderful story from the perspective of the dog. It's completely changed the way I interact with my animals. This book is definitely in my Top 10 favs!

 
  "A Purposeful Story" by nbaker (see profile) 06/21/13

A Dog's Purpose was a beautiful story of life through a dog's eyes. I like to think that we all have a purpose in life, something we were meant to achieve or bring to the world -- and who is to say that it is any different for animals. It may have taken the dog 4 or more lives to find his purpose but what a heartwarming and learning experience he got along the way. A delightful read that made me smile, cry and laugh.

 
  "A Dog's Purpose" by cotton (see profile) 11/22/13

 
  "" by peatswea (see profile) 06/29/14

 
  "A Dog's Purpose" by thecraines (see profile) 08/03/14

I simply could not put this book down, and read it to the exclusion of everything else going on. I was sorry when it ended. I wanted it to go on . . .and on . . . I will always remember this book.

 
  "A Dog's Purpose" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/12/16

Our group found this a light and fun reading. It made us laugh and love our animals even more.

 
  "A Dog's Purpose" by clobaza (see profile) 01/18/17

OK, I didn't really care much for this book, however, the book group seemed to LOVE it. It made for good discussion. And the leader of the discussion brought great treats with a dog bone cookie and Mississippi Mud cake. Almost put the book down (no pun intended) after 90 pages, but after reading other reviews decided to go back and finish the book it did get better later in the book and I see from the movie trailer that they also removed a few of the opening stories.

 
  "" by mommasue (see profile) 03/12/19

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...