The Stranger in the Woods: The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit
by Michael Finkel
Hardcover- $19.14

Many people dream of escaping modern life, but most will never act on it. This is the remarkable true story of a man who lived alone in ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "" by Ljwagoner (see profile) 08/10/17

Interesting story. The author tells the story of Christopher Knight, a man who lived undetected in the woods of Maine for over 25 years. Insights and research into hermits and solitude were also introduced. Audio version - monotone for the majority of the narration.

 
  "The Stranger in the Woods" by June65 (see profile) 10/02/17

I found this book to be unconvincing. There are no pictures to back up Christopher's story. I really don't believe he was in the woods for 27 years & never found. Really!! There really are a lot of unanswered questions with the reality of this story. He lived on stuff he stole from the cabins so therefore he wasn't a true hermit. I won't give it a rating.

 
  "That's not my idea of life!" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/31/18

Chris is a character unlike any I've read about before. Who would choose to live like that? It's a little slow in the middle, but I found it fascinating. I'm looking forward to our club's discussion of it.

 
  "Interesting" by lpollinger (see profile) 08/27/18

Christopher Knight, at the age of twenty decides to give up everything and live as a hermit in the Maine woods. Surprisingly he survives for twenty seven years. In all that time he has only spoken one word, has never been sick and survived by his wits and stealing only what he needed from the cabins that surrounded his camp.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/28/18

 
  "Well-written but..." by BookDivasReads (see profile) 10/24/18

Although incredibly well-written and thoughtfully researched, the subject matter of this book and the main character did not resonate with me at all. This almost became a DNF for the year, but I felt compelled to finish it simply because it was a book group read. (NOTE: I didn't actually finish reading it until after the book group had met and discussed the book.)

This seems to be a book people either loved or found pointless. Guess which group I'm in?!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/23/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/24/19

Interesting!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/27/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/31/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/25/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/25/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/25/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/21/22

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...