The Rainbow Comes and Goes: A Mother and Son On Life, Love, and Loss
by Anderson Cooper, Gloria Vanderbilt
Hardcover- $9.23

#1 New York Times Bestseller

A touching and intimate correspondence between Anderson Cooper and his mother, Gloria Vanderbilt, offering ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Odd but interesting" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/25/16

A collection of overly formal emails between mother and son makes for an awkward format for a novel. Subject matter is at times fascinating, however. Makes for a lively book club conversation.

 
  "the rainbow comes and goes" by Carolynr (see profile) 06/02/16


Mother and son spend a year sharing their most private thoughts via email. It's helpful if you know a little of Gloria Vanderbilt's life history but Cooper tries to fill in where appropriate so you understand the conversations. Its an interesting way to write a book -- I liked it. When his mother turned 91 and was ill, Cooper did this because he didn't want anything left unsaid between them, as he realized her mortality. Thoughtful reflections on life, bonds between parent and child and certainly a fascinating life story.

 
  "Insight into another world" by Campfield (see profile) 06/07/16

I enjoyed this book, while i felt as if several details were glazed over. It appears the purpose of this was a conversation between a mother and son and not a tell all book.

 
  "The Rainbow Comes and Goes" by Rebecca (see profile) 06/09/16

Very interesting way to portray the book. It was written from the emails between Son, Anderson Cooper, and his Mom, Gloria Vanderbilt. But it was very well written and the ending was so beautiful. I learned a lot about the early life of Gloria that was so sad. But everyone in book club enjoyed it.

 
  "" by thetapolo (see profile) 06/22/16

 
  "" by Traci13 (see profile) 07/29/16

 
  "" by misspageturner (see profile) 01/21/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/24/17

I thought the book was interesting. It gives a look into life the of the rich and famous. I thought that Gloria was pretty candid about her private life. She told things about herself that were very personal. I was surprised that Anderson has made his own way. Very interesting.

 
  "" by AnnFant (see profile) 10/26/17

 
  "The Rainbow Comes and Goes" by nmsanders34488 (see profile) 05/04/18

Anderson Cooper and Gloria Vanderbilt are really interesting people.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/16/18

 
  "Open, Honest Conversation Between Mother & Son" by zodejodie4 (see profile) 12/31/19

4.5 Stars An open, honest conversation between Mother & Son wherein each learns about the other & shares thoughts on life, love, & loss. Because Anderson Cooper & Gloria Vanderbilt decided they wanted nothing left unsaid between them they had this conversation over the course of a year & graciously shared it with us in this book. This glimpse into their lives, thoughts, feelings, & aspirations provided interesting & touching insights into a part of their journey.

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...