Ask Again, Yes: A Novel
by Mary Beth Keane
Hardcover- $13.50

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

**The Tonight Show Summer Reads Pick**

“One of the most unpretentiously profound books I've read in a ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/01/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/04/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/08/19

 
  "Heart-wrenching Story" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/16/19

This was a heart-wrenching tale of two families. Two officers meet at training school and then begin their careers together. Then, the Gleesons, Francis and Lena, along with the Stanhopes, Brian and Anne, move next door to each other. They begin to raise their families, but behind closed doors, things are not always perfect.
Peter Stanhope and Kate Gleeson have always been best friends, from the time they were toddlers. Tragedy strikes one night when they are in 8th grade, and the rest of their lives revolve around how they and their families come to cope with this moment in time.
This is a very sad tale of mental illness, of healing, of redemption, of love, of forgiveness. Very moving.

#AskAgainYes #MaryBethKeane

 
  "ask again, yes" by Carolynr (see profile) 09/22/19

SPOILER ALERT: this was just an ok read for me. I didn't find that the characters had much depth, especially Brian. Not sure how he could just leave his son the way he did and never even communicate. I found Peter's character very difficult to understand, even though I do gt that his whole family has issues. I don't really understand where all the four and five starts are coming from and don't get the title. Still, you should read the book to base your own opinions -- wasn't horrible,,,just fair for me.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/28/19

Great read, good character development

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/28/19

 
  "" by Djbg1 (see profile) 10/09/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/09/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/12/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/30/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/07/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/12/20

Sometimes confusing- had to reread certain passages to understand what was written.



Kept expecting the worst to happen.



Felt the author was trying to write about serious subjects but lacked the real knowledge or experience to truly describe the pain and suffering of mental health or addiction issues.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/22/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/31/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/31/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/01/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/02/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/07/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/18/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/05/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/05/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/07/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/20/20

Loved the writing and story development. I didn’t know what it was about, so it caught me off guard a few times.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/25/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/10/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/07/20

It made me realize that people that act the way they do it’s because there’s an underlying problem that they need to get professional help or they can destroy lives.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/11/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/01/20

 
  "" by Josie02 (see profile) 08/13/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/27/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/17/20

 
  "Romeo and Juliet for the Modern Age" by tompatrice (see profile) 09/27/20

Loved this book both in print and the audio version. Imagine what would happen if Romeo and Juliet met in today's modern world, and lived... Mary Beth Keane knows her characters so well. You will recognize them too. A beautiful story about love and tragedy and forgiveness.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/04/20

 
  "" by KM (see profile) 10/17/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/03/20

 
  "Good Book" by Tbaker123 (see profile) 11/06/20

The print in this book was so light that it was barely legible. All those who chose to read the print version of the book rather than with an eBook were disappointed. The story was interesting, although it was a bit gloomy. Good discussion, though!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/06/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/22/21

 
  "" by Jbailey17 (see profile) 07/24/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/04/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/30/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/13/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/16/22

 
  "" by tina55 (see profile) 07/18/22

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...