The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel
by Heather Morris
Paperback- $9.33

 

#1 New York Times Bestseller and #1 International Bestseller

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/29/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/29/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/22/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/03/18

Judy said best book she ever read.
Tracey loved it!

 
  "Incredible tale of love that begins in Auschwitz!" by thewanderingjew (see profile) 10/05/18

The Tattooist of Auschwitz- Heather Morris, author; Richard Armitage, narrator.
This novel tells the story of Ludwig Eisenberg and Gisela Fuhrmannova. Essentially, it is a love story that defied the odds as it took place in the most unusual of places. Ludwig was known as Lale. In 1942, he was a prisoner in the Auschwitz Concentration Camp. His job was to tattoo incoming prisoners. He met Gita (Gisela), just a teenager of 17, on the day she was brought to him to have her tattoo redone because it had faded. For Lale, it seemed to be love at first sight, and he took it upon himself to protect her and insure her survival.
Every Holocaust story brings with it a unique history of events, and this one is no different. It reminds the reader of the brutality and sadistic horror that the Germans, under Hitler’s Third Reich, systematically inflicted upon innocents who were guilty only of not being pure Aryans, although some were also marked because they held opposing political viewpoints. It is sad that fewer sane minds prevailed. Jews, gypsies, homosexuals, and the mentally ill were among those who were persecuted and systematically tortured, starved, worked to death or murdered outright so that Germany and Germans could enlarge their territory and prosper. The means justified their end goals.
At first, I was drawn into the story because I thought it was the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov (Lale changed his name from Eisenberg to Sokolov, his sister’s married name). As I read it and realized that the author had taken a great deal of poetic license in her presentation of events, I still enjoyed it, but not quite as a piece of history. I found it to be a compelling presentation of a romance that defied reality, and in some cases, some of the descriptions of events and experiences seemed to even defy credibility. I began to wonder how much of the story was based on fact and how much on the fiction that the author had to create when she put pen to paper. Since she did not hear actual conversations and had to rely on Sokolov’s memory and description of events, she surely had to embellish a great deal. There was so much that had to be filled in by her in order for her to write a cohesive and realistic story. Sometimes she was more successful than others as the narrative often went off into the world of a fairytale as characters that behaved with vicious brutality were often being presented with an occasional softer side. The author seemed to struggle to paint a positive side to the evil many exhibited, as if each villain had a redeeming trait to fall back on, in spite of their taking great pleasure in cruel, violent, evil behavior. To me, that softer side seemed to be far more of an anomaly and not the rule of thumb.
From the description of events, it appeared almost miraculous that Gita and Lela survived what they were forced to undergo. As with many survivors, a good deal of their ability to survive was because of luck and the occasional kindness of others. Yet, even the kindness of others seemed to have had a price, since nobody seemed to turn down any of the bribes offered. It seemed as if few did anything simply out of the goodness of their hearts, but rather they did it also for the reward they would reap.
The reader may well question if such a romantic relationship could have developed and thrived in a place filled with guards who relished and enjoyed their power, brutality and capacity for carnage. Still, the idea that there were some strong enough or lucky enough to survive through whatever means they could find comes through loud and clear, even when doing what was necessary meant sacrificing others to save themselves. Bargains were struck and compromises made in order to insure their survival. There were unusual friendships and choices that had to be made. Sometimes the line between collaborator and survivor was blurred.
No matter how many books you read, non-fiction or historic fiction, you can never full realize the complete extent of the Holocaust horror.
The narrator did a phenomenal job using perfect and appropriate accents, excellent expression and tone to present mood and the moment.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/25/18

 
  "the tattooist of auschwitz" by Carolynr (see profile) 11/04/18

3.5
summary of the book speaks for itself. I disagree with some reviewers who felt it was poorly written. I disagree. I like the fact that that it is an easy ready and not drawn out. There are many holocaust stories...this is one more. But based on a true story, it is another fascinating story of survival One of the reviewers tells her own story of her grandmother going every year to the German Consulate to prove she was alive to receive her reparation check -- another fascinating story. We need these to remember -- there are too many out there that would sweep it away.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/27/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/29/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/02/18

Wish it was more descriptive. Development of characters and relationships could of been better.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/02/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/04/18

Overall it was a good book. Easy read.

Lacks character development.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/01/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/08/19

I couldn’t put it down. It was so sad, but also so interesting. Great read!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/13/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/13/19

This was a really good and fast read. Part of me wanted more details, but part of me was thankful there weren’t! I never knew there were prisoners who were given jobs to supervise other prisoners.
It’s quite interesting how the nazis seemed to have a glimmer of humanity, but yet, only to a certain extent.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/02/19

What a beautifully moving love story.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/09/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/14/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/22/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/25/19

 
  "" by KRoby (see profile) 03/26/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/03/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/12/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/30/19

Just wow. Having learned virtually nothing about WWII history in school, this book was an education of itself for me. I still get sick to my stomach, thinking about what these poor people had to endure, if they even managed to survive. I have a whole new respect for anyone involved in WWII after reading this book.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/04/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/04/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/07/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/22/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/24/19

 
  "" by prauchman (see profile) 05/29/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/03/19

 
  "An unforgettable book" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/11/19

A hard book to get thru but a miraculous story of what Lale and Gita had to go thru at the concentration camp of Auschwitz. You wont ever forget this story of how two people held on to hope and love.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/18/19

 
  "" by jcunningham (see profile) 06/25/19

 
  "" by jst7980 (see profile) 06/27/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/28/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/29/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/29/19

Amazing storytelling,
Very optimistic in the events that were very depressing.

 
  "" by kwakefield (see profile) 06/30/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/03/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/11/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/16/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/19/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/30/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/31/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/01/19

 
  "" by grizanti (see profile) 08/16/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/19/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/20/19

 
  "The Tattooist is good and hard to read " by lizblair (see profile) 08/22/19

The Tattooist is good and hard to read. 100% Worth the read. Love to read about true human heroes It is a wonderfully penned story at the beginning, really interesting. The end was very linear. " this happened then this happened" Enjoyed the comments from the son.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/27/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/30/19

This book educates you cleverly on the horrors of the concentration camps and the roles that the prisoners were made to play in order to survive the living hell.
The tattooist was clever, a survivor, with empathy and love of the human spirit. You route for him at every stage. The romance in it was beautiful. Even more amazing was how I didn’t realise it was a true story until reading the epilogue. I cried twice. Once during the book and then when realising it was real. Such a powerful piece of literature.

 
  "" by Ttundidor826 (see profile) 09/11/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/20/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/01/19

 
  "Touching story of the power of love" by zodejodie4 (see profile) 10/02/19

4 & 1/2 stars - I read a LOT of books set during this time period & about various aspects of the history. There are so many stories. It shouldn't be surprising & yet it still is just how many stories there are. So many facets, so many viewpoints. Lale & Gita's story was very touching. A testament to the power of love. I'm very grateful to have spent some time getting to know them.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/03/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/10/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/12/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/14/19

 
  "" by LynnTH (see profile) 10/15/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/20/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/25/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/26/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/03/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/03/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/08/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/15/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/30/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/03/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/15/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/17/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/19/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/06/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/07/20

 
  "" by enitsirhc (see profile) 01/11/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/11/20

 
  "" by PatDaniel (see profile) 01/12/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/15/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/17/20

Interesting story, poor writing.

 
  "Review by Balcones Country Club Book Club" by PeggySue64 (see profile) 01/21/20

The book club was split on book. Some felt is was an unrealistic depiction of the holocaust. The book was written as a screenplay and many of the trite expressions did not fit the era. Basically a love story about a determined man who would do whatever necessary to save himself and his love.

 
  "" by TammyCar (see profile) 01/23/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/23/20

 
  "" by pslozak (see profile) 01/24/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/30/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/01/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/01/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/03/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/07/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/08/20

I loved this book. It was gut wrenching at times but always flowed well and made me think.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/14/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/20/20

 
  "" by hkbarker (see profile) 02/23/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...