Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry
by Rachel Joyce
Hardcover- N/A

When Harold Fry leaves home one morning to post a letter, with his wife hoovering upstairs, he has no idea that he is about to walk from one end of ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry" by dinajo (see profile) 06/23/12

A wonderful book about redemption and hope.

 
  "The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry" by jenbrinkley (see profile) 08/20/12

I fell in love with the characters in this book. It's my new favorite!

 
  "Harold Fry's Pilgrimage" by teachgiftedkids (see profile) 09/28/12

This will be one of my favorite books of the year. Along with Harold, the reader learns much about the difficulties in life and how these difficulties can turn into successes. The author develops a strong story along with a beautiful setting. Follow Harold in his journey and find out how he begins to understand himself and those around him. So much to discuss in this book. Your bookclub will love it.

 
  "Very good book, well written and engaging.........." by sonneegirl (see profile) 09/28/12

Very good character descriptions and felt like you were there with the people.

 
  "Invest in some good Walking Shoes" by nbaker (see profile) 10/26/12

Some loved the book and others were just so-so. Not so sure that the book isn't more meaningful to those of mid-life age and older. The need to see your life in full view, to accept what has been and to plan for what will be, is a bit more believable and understandable to those who have "lived" life and are now at a crossroads. Harold tale is a beautiful story of a journey of purpose, of opening your heart and sharing your life with those around you. A heart warming (and heart wrenching) story that will make you laugh and cry and hopefully inspire you to pick up your walking shoes and begin a journey of your own.

 
  "One of the best books I've read thisyear" by teachgiftedkids (see profile) 11/09/12

I found this book one that left me with much to think about. Where will my own journey take me? How can I better understand those who are affecting my life? How does my past affect my future? This book gave me a new perspective on how one man's past directly affected his future. The surprises the reader discovers are profound and the courage that Harold Fry developed makes this story a solid, believable tale. It will be one book that I will reread and learn more from the second time around.

 
  "The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry" by dminor (see profile) 11/20/12

I started reading The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and could not stop. Harold and his wife Maureen live sadly separate lives in the same house. An unexpected note from a long ago colleague sends Harold on his unlikely pilgrimage. I felt as if I were traveling along with him and hoping with every blister that the path would lead Harold to a happier existence. I highly recommend The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

 
  "Unlikely Pilgrimage" by maryannkwik (see profile) 02/15/13

Harold Fry is a retiree who sets out to mail a letter one day and instead just keeps on walking. I found this book quite a journey for myself; sort of a coming of age novel for middle-agers. The story unfolds rather slowly, as the past is revealed in little bits as Harold reflects on his life as he walks to visit a dying friend. While much of the story is sad, or even frustrating to the reader, in the end it is ultimately a story of hope for Harold, his wife Maureen, and even for myself.

 
  "" by fayrelight (see profile) 05/26/13

Such a lovely coming of middle age novel. It is a charming journey of self discovery and gave our book club a wealth of topics to discuss passionately.
I highly recommend this great first novel.

 
  "Worth Getting Through" by missybelle (see profile) 01/17/15

This book is somewhat on the slower side of starting, however it is worth your wait to stick with it. I would recommend to a "middle age" book club as well.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/12/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/27/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/27/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/22/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/24/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/06/21

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...