A Visit from the Goon Squad
by Jennifer Egan
Audio CD- $21.95

Jennifer Egan pens a compulsively readable narrative centering on Bennie Salazar, an aging punk rocker and record executive, and Sasha, the ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Great novel . . ." by ssinglet (see profile) 09/22/10

Unlike anything I have read in the past. Interesting take on time, its effects on people, and technology. My favorite aspect of the novel was the connections, sometimes random, between the different characters.

 
  "Must Focus" by fermentedbookworm (see profile) 05/06/11

Get out a pen and paper before you start this read. Characters develope and introduce in and out of the chapters very rapidly. While the storyline is intersting and the writer has found a unique way of presenting, the book itself is difficult and demands the full attention of the reader.

 
  "A little confusing at first..." by christinemcarlson (see profile) 06/19/11

The book comes full circle in a very interesting way, but it is helpful to approach it as a series of interconnected short stories rather than a true novel.

 
  "Difficult read that didn't hold our interest" by awr115 (see profile) 08/15/11

Only 1 person in our group liked this book, the rest of us didn't enjoy it all at. We found it confusing, with too many characters who had very little in common with each other and weren't developed. Be prepared to think of the book as short stories. Different character and main themes did lead to a lively discussion but overall we wouldn't recommend it to others

 
  "Goon Squad" by PRBurke (see profile) 08/25/11

Very confusing and hard to follow

 
  "Trashy and pointless" by modmate (see profile) 09/01/11

 
  "A Visit From the Goon Squad" by sharoncray (see profile) 09/02/11

 
  "A Visit From the Goon Squad" by aschiminger (see profile) 09/02/11

Maybe we were just the wrong demographic for this book, but 7 out of 9 members attending the meeting either didn't like it or hated it. Reasons ranged from disinterest in the subject matter; the confusing, choppy, "short story" format; and the failure to fully develop certain characters.

 
  "Goon" by stell4r (see profile) 09/03/11

 
  "Waste of Time!" by speidelkelly (see profile) 10/19/11

This was the choice of the month for our book club and not one person was able to finish this book! The story was so confusing, none of us could keep the characters straight or even understand why they were even being written about. The plot seemed disjointed. Waste of time (even if you're really bored!).

 
  "Still Thinking About It" by CathyM (see profile) 01/10/12

"Goon Squad" does feel like a collection of short stories, but it was fascinating to piece the various characters together. The themes of time, technology, connections, and loss will mean different things to different readers. I did end up making an index card cheat sheet for many of the characters as it helped me remember who-was-who. I understand if you go to Jennifer Egan's website you can watch the actual powerpoint depicted in the book.

 
  "A Unanimous Thumbs Down" by rkarpinecz (see profile) 07/13/12

Our reading group has 10 members ranging from mid 30s to early 60s. Most of us did not finish reading it. None of us could understand why it attracted all the awards and accolades that it did. For us, the empress has no clothes.

 
  "Disconnected" by clstarr (see profile) 10/29/12

Disconnected. ,reviews on book over exaggerated.

 
  "A Visit from the Goon Squad" by Zjman (see profile) 12/27/12

Wonderfully thought provoking, intertwining story lines! I thoroughly enjoyed following the characters through the many facets of their lives. A great read!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/18/15

I loved it

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/05/18

 
  "" by KRoby (see profile) 11/15/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/23/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/22/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/01/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/11/19

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...