Half of a Yellow Sun
by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Paperback- $15.26

A haunting story of love and war from “one of the world’s great contemporary writers” (Barack Obama), the best-selling author of ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Thought provoking...couldn't put it down!!" by mommyevelyn (see profile) 11/08/07

Exceptional story/history/drama of the political civil war of Nigeria-Biafra. Couldn't put this 540 pg. book down, and didn't want the book to end. This is a book you could discuss in a book club over the course of a few meetings, as there is such vast subject content such as politics, war, starvation, romance, drama, social justice, etc.).

 
  "A great historical fiction read with a wonderful story!" by marialuby (see profile) 11/08/07

A little dense at first and character names can be confusing in the beginning but a very compelling novel!

 
  "Story of the Nigerian/Biafran civil war in the late 60's told through the eyes of 5 very human characters." by asbrown (see profile) 04/01/08

I think the author was masterful in providing 5 different points of view, using the same narrator. The book was intimate, lovely, sad, and grim. It was a great history lesson wrapped in a very human package.

 
  "THis a beautifully crafted story from 5 points of view, so you can see class and genger and age perspectives on the Biafra war from the Biafra view point." by flohoy (see profile) 11/15/08

I couldn't put this down, even though some of it is very dark.
The characters were warmly drawn and the view point was not what I remember from the news reports of the 60's. Seeing this view of war was important in today's world.

 
  "4.5 stars" by 1morechapter (see profile) 02/14/11

A beautifully told story of a savage civil war, Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun definitely deserved the 2007 Orange Prize.

'They sat on wooden planks and the weak morning sun streamed into the roofless class as she unfurled Odenigbo’s cloth flag and told them what the symbols meant. Red was the blood of the siblings massacred in the North, black was for mourning them, green was for the prosperity Biafra would have, and finally, the half of a yellow sun stood for the glorious future.'

I resisted reading this book because I really just don’t like war stories at all. I wanted to give it a chance, though, because so many bloggers had said they appreciated it. They were right; it’s a very special book. Based on the conflict in Nigeria in the late 1960’s, it not only depicts the horrors of war, it also hauntingly and lovingly depicts the lives of the participants. Apparently many of the characters were based on real people in Adichie’s family history, and this authenticity very much shines through.There were some content issues for me in the book, but I’m very glad I read this story. I look forward to reading Purple Hibiscus and other books of hers to come.

 
  "Half of a Yellow Sun" by Italian (see profile) 07/28/11

I read this book from beginning to end which is unusual for me. At first it was a little slow but it kept building up in intensity and interest so I could not stop wanting to read every moment I got. Then I just had to know what came next till at the end I could not stop till I knew the ending. A great read and also an enlightenment on what happened then in Biafra. It was thought provoking as to what is happening now as well in many parts of the world and what is and isn't being done to help people in these situations. I encourage you to persist with reading till you get grabbed into it as I did. It was well worth the time. I really enjoyed all the characters as well.

 
  "Half of a Yellow Sun" by jhdreier (see profile) 09/03/14

It\'s an interesting book, with interesting characters. But biggest complaint is how long it is... not quite sure it was worth it.

 
  "" by pwjenks (see profile) 04/29/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/26/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/16/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/01/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/08/21

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...