The Lowland
by Jhumpa Lahiri
Paperback- $12.25

A New York Times Book Review Notable Book • A Time Top Fiction Book • An NPR "Great Read" • A Chicago Tribune Best Book • A USA ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Perfect Discussion Book" by Bodacious (see profile) 07/12/14

Exploration of Indian (India) culture, relationships and how decisions we make effect others. Amazingly well written book. Lahiri\\\'s character detail allows you to feel their emotions.

 
  "" by JudySaye (see profile) 07/14/14

 
  "The Lowland" by baosborne (see profile) 07/14/14

A slow start for me, but once I got into it, I could not put the book donw!

 
  "The Lowland " by AmyPD13 (see profile) 07/16/14

The book was well written, extremely descriptive and I was captivated by the lives of the characters. I would recommend this book.

 
  "Well Done!" by witchy1 (see profile) 08/20/14

Beautifully written story of an Indian family and their struggles.

 
  "The Lowland" by SamKelley (see profile) 11/19/14

Although I did read it to the end, I was not engaged in the story or with the characters. I did learn a little about India which I appreciated.

 
  "" by vivianbenci (see profile) 01/08/15

 
  "" by jmkerns (see profile) 03/29/15

 
  "" by Rebettie (see profile) 05/24/15

 
  "It got better as it went on" by egraham (see profile) 01/26/16

I would not have read it if it hadn't been a book club selection. It was slow starting, it got better as it went on. The ending was strange.

 
  "" by phoebe.terry (see profile) 05/17/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/06/18

 
  "" by BeaSou (see profile) 01/03/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/29/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/29/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/10/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/13/22

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...