The Girl Before: A Novel
by JP Delaney
Hardcover- $14.89

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in Cabin 10, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Great Book" by tmurphy (see profile) 02/17/17

Loved the book Full of twists and turns Exciting Read in two days

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/04/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/07/17

Fine, some gratuitous sex scenes. Unnecessary and made me wonder if the author/ publishers are trying to capitalize on 50 shades popularity.

 
  "" by slstrobach (see profile) 05/10/17

 
  "Rollercoaster " by SaraV (see profile) 05/12/17

Loved the ride

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/12/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/20/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/01/17

 
  "" by ladydiphil (see profile) 07/06/17

 
  "VERY addictive, engrossing read!" by Rcashion (see profile) 07/07/17

I read A LOT, I'm in 2 books clubs. I read many different kinds of books too. Many books are just repeating the same old story lines. What I loved about this book most is that I was hooked from the first page and then it kept my attention the ENTIRE book. I had to know what happened. It's been awhile since I finished a book in 2 days...and that's exactly what I did with this book. Now don't get me wrong...this is not an in-depth literary read, but a very fun engrossing summer murder mystery read. I need those between my more complex reads! This Kindle ebook is also on sale for the month of July 2017 for only $4!! I paid full price!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/07/17

 
  "The Girl Before " by nbaker (see profile) 07/13/17

Wow - that was one of those books that you finish in a day because you just can't put it down. Two interwoven stories about "then Emma" and "now Jane", tenants in home like no other home, leaves this reader wanting to read the fine print in any document I sign.

Edward is a young but widowed architect whose creations give new meaning to clean lines. He creates and demands clean everything which includes no dirty dishes in the sink, no shoes on the flooring, no clothes on the floor and no books. (The book thing, alone, was reason enough for me to know any sane person should just walk away.) The house has an electronic system that adjusts the lighting according to the time of the day, locks doors behind you and even recognizes you when you enter the shower and will adjust the water temperature to your preferred liking (creepy, huh)?

Emma has been traumatized by a break-in in her apartment and is finding that life lived in fear is unbearable. With the criminal still walking the streets, she fears he could strike again. Her fear is so strong that she can only remember pieces of the ordeal -- or can she? Her solution? Make a clean break.

Jane is young but has just experienced a life-changing ordeal. Single and pregnant, she has been told her baby will not be able to live outside the womb and there is nothing they can do. Grieving for a child she feels she gave life and death to, she is looking for a new start -- somewhere fresh -- somewhere clean and she thinks she has found it at One Folgate Street.

Every character in this story is flawed, holding secrets and the dam is just about to break. This was definitely a page turner for me and I so enjoyed getting to the dark side of all those involved. I've never read anything by this author, but you can bet I'll be looking for others. I even heard that they are going to make a movie based on this book. I hope they are able to play out the intense drama on screen as well as J.P. Delaney did on paper.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/18/17

Different but very good. Enjoyed it

 
  "The Girl Before" by sbilsby (see profile) 10/24/17

This was a mildly disturbing and rather creepy book which, however, was very easy to read. Most of our members finished and enjoyed the book but did not like the characters. Those who did not enjoy the book very much did finish reading it because they had to know what happened in the end.
All of the characters had their secrets and the book kept us guessing as to what they really were which certainly kept everyone’s interest. The plot, although quite slow, was engaging, concentrating on how the characters reacted to events.
The flat was interesting, but we felt would be difficult to live in. We could not imagine getting rid of everything that makes us an individual. Emma did cheat, because she was at heart untidy, but she would accept any rules to live in a nice flat, in a good area, in the middle of London.
In answer to the question ‘what would you ask the author’ we wanted to know what sort of house he lived in, is it minimalist and modern as in the book, or cluttered and cosy, or somewhere in between. Also we wondered if there is going to be a sequel with the new girl.
Altogether we felt the book was well written, engaging and interesting and all of us wanted to know how it ended. Although we were mostly in agreement there was still plenty to discuss about the characters and the events.
Out of ten we scored this book 6.5

 
  "Fantastic Book" by andrea1968 (see profile) 11/15/17

I could not put this book down! I loved every minute of reading it!

 
  "Life repeats itself." by [email protected] (see profile) 03/01/18

Interesting read of then and now and how humans interact with each other. Just when you think you know where the story is headed there is a twist and even the ending is unpredictable.

 
  "Craziness and Lies" by ebach (see profile) 06/23/18

Two young women in their 20s rent a home that is an architectural masterpiece controlled by the architect.

First Emma moves in because the rent is so cheap. But in exchange for the cheap rent, she agrees to the architect’s ridiculous demands for maintaining the home and completing periodic personal questionnaires.

Later, after Emma is gone, Jane comes along. She, too, agrees to the architect’s same demands and moves in.

Emma’s and Jane’s stories of craziness and lies are in short alternating chapters.

The psychological conditions presented are real and possible, I suppose. But who would really agree to the architect’s ridiculous demands? That spoiled the story for me.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/19/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/21/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/25/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/17/19

 
  "" by hkbarker (see profile) 02/23/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...