Madame Tussaud: A Novel of the French Revolution
by Michelle Moran
Hardcover- N/A

The world knows Madame Tussaud as a wax artist extraordinaire . . . but who was this woman who became one of the most famous sculptresses ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "good historical fiction" by mbgirl (see profile) 03/15/11

I loved cleopatras daughter and moran did not disappoint w/her new novel

 
  "Madame Tussaud" by cherylwilliams5 (see profile) 03/16/11

This is a very dramatic book and really opened my eyes to the events in France during a very crucial time in the country. Moran did a very good job of in-cooperating the lives of the characters with the history. It was fast moving and an easy read despite the 440 pages. I love that she included a list of characters, a time-line, and definitions to help with the book.

 
  "Historical Fiction" by clsteedman (see profile) 04/12/11

Really an amazing read. Not something I would have chosen on my own but I am glad I read it! Horrifying yet eye opening to what was reality. A good story overall.

 
  "Madame Tussaud" by ozlvr (see profile) 04/13/11

At times very graphic. It was obvious the author spent a lot of time on research. Interesting perspectives of the French Revolution from the revolutionists side, the aristocracy side and those in the "middle". Also interesting seeing the evolution of the revolution from where it began to what it evolved in to and how Madame Tussaud was able to juggle remaining in the favor of both sides for so long.

 
  "Madame Tussaud: A Novel of the French Revolution" by fabiennepalu (see profile) 04/13/11

A page turner

 
  "Madame Tussaud: A Novel of the French Revolution" by lkradfo (see profile) 04/13/11

This book was a little difficult to read. The writing style made it a little hard to understand some of the events that were taking place during the Revolution. The characters were interesting. I assumed the book would focus more on Madame Tussard's work, instead of the French history, which seemed to be the main subject.

 
  "Very Interesting but also graphic" by susansjo (see profile) 09/23/11

I loved the historical parts of this book. It was a very interesting read. However, I don't like the details of some of the massacres. I know that this is what happened in history but I wasn't fully prepared for the details of the gore. Still, I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in history.

 
  "Madame Tussaud" by natfencer (see profile) 09/23/11

This is a very interesting read. Even though it is a historical fiction it will challenge the way you think about the French Revolution, and will hopefully make you ponder on what humanity is and can be capable of.

This book follows the story of Madame Tussaud and her family as they struggle to follow their hearts and morals while trying to stay alive during the french revolution. It is a book that straddles both sides of the revolution and therefore it can be very dark and graphic, but it also shows the willpower and strength of what it takes for not only the physical survival but the spiritual as well.

 
  "Madame Tussand" by ARSchmidt (see profile) 11/04/11

We have all heard of Madame Tussand's Wax Museum and perhaps even visited it, but did you know who Madame Tussand was? This book answers that question with an exciting account of the French Revolution and the involvement of many of the most important revolutionary figures with Madame Tussand. My book club was lucky enough to win hardcover copies of the book through this website and read it for our August selection. We thought it was a great depiction of the time and really made it come alive. This was a great history lesson-look at how history keeps repeating itself. The wide gap between rich and poor has been the undoing of many a government-Russia in 1917 is another example. We talked about the role of the newspapers in spreading both rumor and truth, and how the newspapers of that time invented things to sell papers, just as we see happen today. It was also interesting that so many of the people came to the exhibit to see what was happening-with no photography, camera phones or television, it was the only way the common person knew what these people and places looked like. Most members commented on the process of creating the wax figures and exhibits-we found it so interesting! In all, we learned so much and really enjoyed the story. We would recommend it to all book clubs!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/22/18

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...