The Alienist: A Novel
by Caleb Carr
Paperback- $13.32

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A TNT ORIGINAL SERIES

“A first-rate tale of crime and punishment that will keep readers guessing until ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Excellent historical fiction! Everyone in the book club loved this well-written thriller!" by keelylaine (see profile) 03/24/09

 
  "The Alienist" by ccalkins (see profile) 04/30/09

Fascinating characters who come together to solve a horrific crime. Historically set prior to the turn of the 20th Century, the descriptions and use of "new" crime-detecting techniques was interesting and informative.

 
  "Excellent Historical Fiction/Mystery" by sams (see profile) 12/09/09

 
  "The Alienist by Caleb Carr" by lesliemich (see profile) 03/12/10

 
  "The Alienist" by bchamplin (see profile) 03/12/10

At first, I didn't think I would like this book. It was really dark and gory. Then it takes a turn and you are swept away into the story. I liked the way this book was written you didn't get ALL the information up front, you got the clues when the team got the clues. All in all, a good story.

 
  "the Alienist" by KKSSLC (see profile) 07/03/10

Loved it, not one for mysteries, not patient enough, but this one was great, enough twists but not contrived.

 
  "The Alienist" by hdilaura (see profile) 09/04/10

I read this book years ago and LOVED it. Caleb Carr is authentic to the time period and I love that (at least in the hard cover) there was a map on the inside cover so you could understand where they were going - and remembering that when he indicates that they take a "cab", it is a hansom cab, not a car!

 
  "The Alienist" by bnmcaleer (see profile) 10/20/10

I love love loved this book up until the ending. It was so brilliantly written and developed, and was so interesting with historical setting, but I felt like the ending was a little bit of a cop-out. Like...Carr just didn't feel like thinking anymore. I would still strongly recommend the book, but couldn't give it 5 stars for that reason.

 
  "The author gets lost in details" by mpaniaguatej (see profile) 02/18/11

that make the reader loose the attention, Interesting story but slooow.

 
  "Fascinating Historical Fiction" by kristinbluedog (see profile) 05/05/11

This was a fascinating drama of the early 1900's New York and the beginnings of psychology, forensics and the origins of the real CSI. A great read that keeps you interested, horrified and on the trail of a serial killer.

 
  "" by ebach (see profile) 11/17/15

I found this book to beQ too slow, too difficult to keep my mind on it. Interesting history, but nothing much happens for too long a time. However, most of the rest in my book group said that they liked this book.

 
  "" by RosieW (see profile) 01/17/16

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...