Still Life with Bread Crumbs: A Novel
by Anna Quindlen
Hardcover- $1.37

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A superb love story from Anna Quindlen, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Rise and Shine, Blessings, and ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Still Life With Breadcrumbs" by kbarany (see profile) 02/25/14

Let me start by saying I love Anna Quindlen, but not this book. I did not relate to any of the characters and didn't care what happened to them. If the author were not one of my favorites I would not have finished the book. I will not recommend it to my book club.

 
  "Delightful book " by janiceb (see profile) 03/03/14

A book you cannot put down as you wind your way into the characters that are well developed and likeable. A book that has you empathizing with the these folks

 
  "More than it appears" by lahoytms (see profile) 03/10/14

This book appears to be a pleasant, easy read, but there are many deeper themes including aging, mental illness, disappointment, reinvention, the trappings of intellectualism, etc. The more we discussed it, the more we uncovered. Beautiful writing.

 
  "Still Life with Bread Crumbs" by kmstalk (see profile) 03/26/14

 
  "A quick read" by rosycheeks (see profile) 03/27/14

A heartwarming story with insightful undertones,

 
  "" by dchofer (see profile) 04/23/14

Loved that it made you go back to the simple things in / life,romantic,sad,and even funny at times. Happiness is possible

 
  "OK" by Mollygreenwald (see profile) 04/30/14

I thought this book\\\'s reviews were far too kind. I found it predictable and dull. It didn\\\'t grip me, but it was an easy read.

 
  "" by jodene (see profile) 05/02/14

 
  "Popular Read" by kauten (see profile) 05/15/14

Almost everyone in the Book Club enjoyed the book. It\\\'s a story about getting older and finding that life can still offer opportunities. Fairly good character development.

 
  "" by Glenna (see profile) 05/23/14

I really tried to get into this book but never did. It started to become slightly interesting when I was about 3/4 through it, but I was still so bored I gave up.

 
  "" by barnes47 (see profile) 06/10/14

 
  "" by lbhick (see profile) 06/11/14

 
  "Beautifully Drawn Story With Unique Central Characters" by zodejodie4 (see profile) 08/16/14

3.5 stars
\"....But that was later....\"
This unique take on a love story was beautifully written. Anna Quindlen can really turn a phrase & there were some really lovely descriptions & passages. Though it took a little time to truly fall into the story it was well worth taking the journey. For me, at times it felt slightly disjointed & more like a patchwork of vignettes somewhat haphazardly stitched together rather than an overall arc that flowed smoothly. At the end of the day though, this was a beautifully drawn story with central characters who are very different than you more often see in narratives of this sort.

 
  "Still Life With Breadcrumbs " by Rheach (see profile) 04/12/16

Everyone liked the book. Has some great sayings in it.

 
  "Slow start" by lpollinger (see profile) 07/12/17

Rebecca Winter was once a famous and wealthy photographer. Now in her 60's she has leased out her NYC apartment and moved to a cabin in the middle of nowhere where she meets Jim Bates, 40's, a roofer. Rebecca is embarking on a new chapter in her life and a journey of self discovery begins.
This book has a very slow start, but definitely picks up midway.

 
  "" by peckhauser (see profile) 03/23/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/04/18

 
  "" by wileygreen (see profile) 01/30/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...