The Corrections
by Jonathan Franzen
Paperback- $8.48

Winner of the 2001 National Book Award for Fiction

After almost fifty years as a wife and mother, Enid Lambert is ready to have some fun. ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Interesting read. However, the continued arguments between characters become exhausting to read." by KtBaby127 (see profile) 01/15/08

A character driven book, with good character development. Many members of our group had a hard time relating to any of the characters in the book, which made it a less enjoyable read.

 
  "The Corrections" by ConAnthony (see profile) 10/28/10

 
  "The Corrections" by mgenduso (see profile) 11/06/10

Overall, I'm not sure what I think about this book and the writer. Definitelty unique and it certainly gave us a lot to discuss at our book club meeting.

 
  "feistychloe" by kwitte (see profile) 12/01/10

Despite the brilliant writing, Franzen panders to the most base and ugly stereotypes of aging, and of mental illness. Depressing, lacking plot, tedious and totally lacking redemptive qualities.

 
  "The Corrections" by maureen54 (see profile) 01/12/11

the novel was very slow reading and very depressing, speaking of a very dysfunctional family from early on to the grown up years. Jonathan Franzen is known for writing very deep though provoking novels but if you are looking for enjoyment while you read, don't look here.

 
  "The Corrections" by Madam Secretary (see profile) 01/17/11

I couldn't find anything redeeming about any of the characters. They were all flawed to the max, mean-spirited and spiteful. Although it was well-written, I found it very frustrating.

 
  "Brilliantly written" by colleenb (see profile) 03/09/11

 
  "Would not recommend . . ." by taeibel (see profile) 03/10/11

I found this book long, poorly organized and depressing. A basic complaint would be there are no "chapters" and just goes on and on and on. A complaint about the content would be that the characters are cruel, the father's illness is disturbing and depressing. Not my cup of tea.

 
  "Too Much Information" by PennyBonura (see profile) 03/10/11

I thought the 500+ page book could have been condensed into 200 pages and would have been a better read.

 
  "Very startling, and not in a good way!" by stephie (see profile) 03/10/11

I was curious to see what happened in the end, but I can't say I would recommend it to anyone.

 
  "Tough, Long read" by susanbonnet (see profile) 04/27/11

 
  "The Corrections" by LMH (see profile) 06/03/11

So bad I stopped reading it halfway through. Depressing and uncomfortable...

 
  "The Corrections" by bookspirit (see profile) 01/09/15

Although the author is undisputedly brilliant, this is a hard book to get through and can be confusing in its complexity. It is worth the read, but don't expect it to be easy. It can be very funny in places and also disturbing. It may make almost anyone's dysfunctional family look good!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/23/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/07/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/04/19

Everyone who read it hated it!! F+

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...