And the Mountains Echoed: A Novel
by Khaled Hosseini
Paperback- $8.80

An unforgettable novel about finding a lost piece of yourself in someone else.

Khaled Hosseini, the #1 New York Times–bestselling author ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Confusing" by tlctlcx2 (see profile) 01/16/14

 
  "" by db2ski (see profile) 06/05/14

 
  "And the Mountains Echoed" by gretcht-bellsouth.net (see profile) 06/22/14

Our discussion lasted over 2 hours. Many characters, lots of family relationships, themes of loss, memory, love, and more. I loved it.

 
  "and the Mountais Echoed" by nalleyo (see profile) 06/22/14

I had trouble keeping the relationships of the characters and the sequence straight. I did learn about some of the recent history of Afghanistan. The book did keep my interested.

 
  "Beautifully written" by gymbackmom (see profile) 06/23/14

 
  "" by GloucesterMary (see profile) 06/26/14

 
  "And The Mountain's Echoed" by janet.sirhall (see profile) 07/16/14

Multi -generational with many characters whose lives intertwine throughout this saga. Can be confusing as it jumps back & forth in time, switching characters plot lines but it is beautifully written and quite absorbing.

 
  "" by cfunigiello (see profile) 07/28/14

 
  "And the Mountains Echoed" by Start (see profile) 09/18/14

This book had too many characters and situations that made it confusing at times. At the end, we saw how they related eventually to each other. Many of our members were confused as to which characters did what and with whom.

 
  "" by mmoharrison (see profile) 10/19/14

 
  "And the Mountains Echoed" by Heathervw (see profile) 11/01/14

Each chapter was a new discovery, trying to figure out how each character fit into the grand scheme of the story. Very interesting to hear from all the different points of views & how one thing affects another.

 
  "Challenging but worthwhile" by sheilafri (see profile) 11/19/14

This book has multiple story lines which intersected on many different levels. It explores human nature in the context of war, family, and the nature (and mixture) of good and evil intentions.

It was a great book for discussion and was a compelling read.

 
  "" by BarbChase (see profile) 11/22/14

 
  "A good read!" by mabook (see profile) 11/24/14

Our book club liked "And the Mountains Echoed"; we found it enjoyable and a good read. It was the general consensus that the book should be read twice, because there are a lot of characters and intertwining stories; it can be tricky to keep it all straight. Unlike Hosseini's earlier books, this one does not go into great depth into any of the Afghanistan fighting ... but it does present a nice merging of stories and is ultimately hopeful and uplifting.

 
  "And the Mountains Echoed" by lblreader (see profile) 03/06/15

The book was hard to follow as the author kept moving from one group of people to another. Chapter titles would have helped. The book provided lots of areas for conversation. The group enjoyed the book but were not satisfied with the ending. The impact of the story would have been just as effective with a happy ending.

 
  "" by kcharba (see profile) 02/15/16

 
  "Good but confusing" by cldando (see profile) 04/20/16

Lots of characters and lots of jumping around made it very confusing to follow. That kept the rating low for our book club. The book was very good once you got past the confusion.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/26/18

 
  "And the Mountains Echoed" by nmsanders34488 (see profile) 05/04/18

The book club really rated this 4.5 stars. We did have a really great discussion about this book.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/22/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/25/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/20/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/03/18

 
  "" by BeaSou (see profile) 01/03/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/22/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/07/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/29/19

 
  "" by Hindsnorth (see profile) 09/27/19

 
  "" by mrstodd (see profile) 11/08/19

 
  "" by mpaniaguatej (see profile) 11/26/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/19/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/28/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/23/20

Steph- 5


Nat- 4


Lauren- 2


Emily- 7


Karly- 5


Annabel- 7


Amy- 7.5

Total- 5.35

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/23/20

 
  "" by huberac1 (see profile) 01/24/20

 
  "" by mindysauve (see profile) 02/28/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/22/20

 
  "" by krilljack (see profile) 07/04/20

 
  "Interesting writing style " by 8feetfast (see profile) 09/17/20

A master storyteller! This book is unusual in it's writing style from so many characters point of view. Somehow it's done in non-defined way (you have to discover the "who" narrating) and it's not confusing.

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...