Testimony: A Novel
by Anita Shreve
Kindle Edition-

At a New England boarding school, a sex scandal is about to break. Even more shocking than the sexual acts themselves is the fact that they ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "One night in the life of teen boys changes everyone's life forever." by lollygil (see profile) 01/29/09

Very thought provoking and great discussion book!

 
  "Set in New England at a boarding school, students have made a sex tape that ends up in the hands of the headmaster. How could this happen? What are the consequences?" by jendorf10 (see profile) 03/24/09

Our group actually reviewed several of Anita Shreve's previous works. Seaglass was a favored one. The Pilot's Wife was praised highly and we all remembered reading it and enjoying it. The Weight of Water was read and the reading guides were used by our group.

We noticed the recurring themes in Shreve's work. Women, water, family, grief. She tends to work in several directions through the novels but winds them up at the end and ties up any lose ends.

 
  "Absolutely Incredible" by LAS924 (see profile) 05/27/09

Testimony by Anita Shreve grabs you from the first page. I could not put it down. It is one of the greatest books I have read in a long time. Shreve keeps you wanting more and unravels the story in a masterful way.

 
  "A great discussion book" by bbolton (see profile) 08/03/09

Our group had a lot of great discussion from this book. Our group has a wide age group, so it was interesting seeing the different (and similar) opinions of young vs old. It deals with the issues of how emotions can override logic and also challenges gender biases. Although I enjoyed this book, I found Shreve's writing to be less like her normal style (which I love) and more like Jody Picoult. However, this worked out since I think that Picoult's style is more enjoyable to a wider range of readers than Shreve's. This is an important book for

 
  "A great read for book clubs" by KristiK (see profile) 08/09/09

Definitely a page turner that will lend itself to much discussion in any book club. Quite thought provoking to see how these characters relate to a traumatic life-altering event.

 
  "Couldn't put it down!" by KristiK (see profile) 08/19/09

This is a brilliant book club choice as it lends itself to much discussion of controversial characters and issues alike. Easy to read and a page turner at that!
Kristi Bryant, UVA Sisters Book Club

 
  "Uninsightful, characterless despite a multitude of characters" by REWall (see profile) 04/05/10

This was the first book I have read by Anita Shreve, and I have not been inspired to read another. The characters lack depth and did not educe any empathy from me; they were mere sketches. Her attempt to convey different voices failed in that most of them sounded the same regardless of point of view (what 20 y.o. male uses "whom", let alone correctly?). It read like a sociology students interview notes albeit not very insightful, just descriptive.
It's a quick read, and I might have enjoyed it more as a read for a long plane ride. But not a train ride- I'd rather watch the scenery.

 
  "Each "testimony" about a shocking event in a small private school provides another piece of the puzzle." by corron2 (see profile) 04/13/10

We liked this book as a vehicle for discussion but did not feel it was a striking piece of literature. Still, it was a good story that raised relevant issues.

 
  "Testimony" by gdeming (see profile) 04/22/10

The headmaster's attitude was a bit unrealistic in the beginning. He acted shocked that boys could do this "terrible" thing. It was an uncomfortable book to read and tragic in it's aftermath.

 
  "testimony" by fearless (see profile) 05/13/10

It was very well written. It made me think.

 
  "Disturbing reading" by mpollack (see profile) 05/22/10

The fragility of our lives and how easily they are destroyed by one reckless act - frightening stuff and disturbing. The book is a quick read, well done and stays with you. Made me want to hug my 15 year old daughter, who is way beyond hugs.

 
  "Testimony" by auntpas (see profile) 11/02/10

 
  "It was a hard read!" by shannonpeelman (see profile) 11/15/10

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...