Be Frank With Me: A Novel
by Julia Claiborne Johnson
Hardcover- $13.56

A sparkling talent makes her fiction debut with this infectious novel that combines the charming pluck of Eloise, the poignant ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Orhan Inheritance" by ncvlib (see profile) 05/11/16

Loved all the quirky characters especially Frank. This was a delightful read. If you enjoyed "The Curious Incident of the Dog at Nighttime" you will like this one.

 
  "" by reginawags (see profile) 05/31/16

 
  "" by refreem (see profile) 06/12/16

 
  "" by thetapolo (see profile) 06/22/16

 
  "" by megarde (see profile) 06/26/16

 
  "Like Watching a Turner Classic Movie Marathon" by nbaker (see profile) 08/02/16

I don't know when I have read a book that made me smile as much as Be Frank With Me. "Frank" is a young autistic, eccentric young man whose love is old black and white movies and whose mind is like a walking encyclopedia. Every day Frank dresses in the style of some movie star or historic figure -- some days Errol Flynn's Robin Hood, Sherlock Holmes, William Holden in Sunset Boulevard. Being a lover of old movies and movie lines myself, this book could have been written just for me.

Frank's mother authored a best seller some years back and her publisher is pushing her to finally write another novel. His mother tells her publicist that she is going to need help at her home with household chores and someone help look after her son, Frank, if she is to attempt such a task. The publicist sends a young female employee named Alice to be his eyes and ears.

The friendship and antics that ensue throughout the Summer and Falls months between Alice and Frank was such a learning experience for them both. Full of humor, wisdom and lines from old movies, it reminded me of the more modern movie "The Truman Show". It was like having a front and center seat in a true reality show that is unscripted, true human nature and honest emotions.

I felt the ending was a bit rushed and fell a little flat, but perhaps it was just because I didn't want it to end. If you feel a need to escape or just want to take a trip down nostalgic movie road, then this book is definitely for you. I hope to carry the innocence and spirit of Frank with me always, but should his image start to fade, I hope I'm reminded that, "We'll always have Paris".

 
  "" by kansasmama (see profile) 09/12/16

 
  "" by RosieW (see profile) 09/19/16

 
  "" by ccoyne (see profile) 02/17/17

 
  "Delightful story with most charming protagonist" by zodejodie4 (see profile) 03/14/17

4 & 1/2 stars. Such a delightful, charming book. Richly peopled with characters you won't soon forget, particularly the title character, Frank. Time well spent exploring the world of the tiny protagonist & those who fill his life.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/19/17

 
  "" by Annadseal (see profile) 07/19/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/16/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/07/19

 
  "Beautiful " by lpollinger (see profile) 09/06/19

Alice is sent by her boss, a publisher, to oversea a new book being written be a reclusive author, Mimi, who wrote one great novel many years ago. Mimi has lost all of her money by unscrupulous investors. Unbeknownst to Alice, instead of helping with the move, she is put in charge of Frank, Mimi’s nine year old son. Not only is he precocious, he is highly intelligent, addicted to old movies and dresses like he lives in the 1930’s. Needless to say he does not get along well with the other kids in school.
This is a beautifully written novel that will, at times, break your heart, but also make you smile and laugh out loud.

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...