Where We Belong
by Emily Giffin
Hardcover- $3.86

The author of five blockbuster novels, Emily Giffin, delivers an unforgettable story of two women, the families that make them who they ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "As an adoptee, I liked this book." by riegerd (see profile) 08/06/12

I have never felt the need to look for my birth parents, but I thought this book gave good insight into one that would with Kirby. I thought the emotions were real and raw. I liked the birth father's interaction with the birth mother, but some of that didn't feel so real. Overall, great read.

 
  "where we belong" by missrush83 (see profile) 08/15/12

Emily Giffin always writes a good book. Not one of my favorite's compared to her other books, but still a good read.

 
  "Great read" by bearypotter (see profile) 09/09/12

I definitely recommend this book. It was a light, fun, quick read but also a great topic for book clubs in general.

 
  "Where We Belong Review" by srlynch (see profile) 09/19/12

I loved this book. I'm a big fan of Emily Giffin. I like all her books. I felt like the story was realistic and I couldn't put it down. I'm hoping for a sequel!

 
  "Where We Belong" by Lauragreeniowa (see profile) 10/04/12

This was my first time reading this author so I wasn't sure what to expect. After reading this book, I would pick up another.

I found the story engaging and enjoyed getting to know the characters. I would have enjoyed a little more character development all around. The story was predictable, but I enjoyed getting through it. It's an easy read and a page turner. It kept my interest, but I wanted more. A great , easy read.

 
  "Where We Belong" by Jlgour25 (see profile) 10/04/12

 
  "Where We Belong" by Loriwalz (see profile) 10/25/12

This was a very easy read and kept your attention!

 
  "Where We Belong" by degan (see profile) 12/14/12

This book raised a good discussion of our feelings as mothers, daughters and also how the issues of adoption and raising babies as single parents have changed even since our facing marriage and pregnancy in the 60's and 70's. It's an easy, fast read for a change in genre and opens up discussion of how it could have had multiple different endings.

 
  "Fabulous Story" by teatime (see profile) 05/28/13

Everyone really loved this one. One of our favorites. A page turner.

 
  "An Affair of the Heart" by nbaker (see profile) 01/02/14

Where We Belong is a beautifully written story that tells the tale of young love, an unplanned pregnancy, an adoption and a life of something missing. Pregnant at 18 Marian, with the help of her mother, adopts out her baby girl to someone who is better equipped financially and emotionally to raise her daughter. Hidden from everyone, never a word is spoken of the child until 18 years later when she arrives at Marian\'s doorstep. The story displays the lives of many who were effected by Marian\'s decision, the emotional tole it has taken on others and the realization that sometimes the truth IS better than fiction. It is a heartwarming story that shows forgiveness is always possible, that blood is thicker than water and that honesty, openness and even humility are traits that make us all human. A feel-good book with much room for good discussion.

 
  "Insightful " by bookingmarauders (see profile) 04/21/14

Our group enjoyed this quick read that did drag out the story a little long. The story itself was predictable,but charming and generally made everyone feel good,

 
  "" by JoStARs (see profile) 06/15/14

Where We Belong is the first Emily Giffin book I read, and it was wonderful! Imagine being a successful, happy, single career woman and opening your door to the daughter you gave up for adoption 18 years ago. That’s what happens to Marian when Kirby arrives. Told from alternating points of view, this story about the ripple effect of making choices is a terrific read. Book clubs, chose Where We Belong, and you won’t be disappointed.

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...