The Giver of Stars: A Novel
by Jojo Moyes
Hardcover- $18.98

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE!

Set in Depression-era America, a breathtaking story of five extraordinary women and their remarkable ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Waiting on the Movie" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/20/19

Fast-paced fun read, very close to a shooting script for the upcoming Hollywood adaptation about a little known history about the "book women of Kentucky" establishing the American library system.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/23/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/08/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/18/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/24/19

Slow build with a thoroughly satisfying conclusion. A lush tale of friendship and loyalty....our first but not our last Moyes novel!

 
  "" by lwarner63 (see profile) 01/03/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/08/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/11/20

I enjoyed this book. The time period, working in a library it was interesting to see this library at work. Difficult to read about the segregation of women and races. Loved the book

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/19/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/23/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/24/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/25/20

I truly enjoyed this book. The character development was excellent, and I felt very involved in the story.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/31/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/01/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/07/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/15/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/18/20

I loved the story and the characters. I also loved the idea of the people sharing literacy and love through books

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/20/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/20/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/20/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/24/20

 
  "" by tch6676 (see profile) 02/27/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/29/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/01/20

 
  "The Giver of Stars" by bkmnmpl (see profile) 03/02/20

Another fabulous book by Jojo Moyes, but it is so very different than her others. This title centers on the courageous Packhorse Librarians of Kentucky. Moyes brings us a story rich in the trials of women in general in the late 1930's, but she embeds the tale into the program created by the WPA during the Great Depression. I highly recommend this title.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/10/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/13/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/14/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/14/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/18/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/18/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/20/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/22/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/27/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/02/20

I liked the book and would give it an 8. Lots of action and interaction with the characters!

 
  "The Giver of Stars" by followthesun (see profile) 04/02/20

Very informative part of American history

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/11/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/15/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/15/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/16/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/16/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/16/20

 
  "" by Anita90605 (see profile) 04/20/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/22/20

 
  "the history of sisterhood and the moving library" by debaparker (see profile) 04/23/20

a moving and mesmerizing account of what it must have been like for women to take books into the wilderness of Kentucky in an effort to educate and entertain. The book is a compelling story of a few of these women and the hardships they endured in life as well as on the mountain trails.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/24/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/02/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/03/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/11/20

 
  "" by LoveOfBooks (see profile) 05/19/20

 
  "" by kcharba (see profile) 05/20/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/29/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/29/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/31/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/31/20

 
  "" by debkrup (see profile) 06/08/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/10/20

 
  "" by thewanderingjew (see profile) 06/13/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/17/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/19/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/21/20

 
  "" by jjpsj5 (see profile) 06/21/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/24/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/25/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/07/20

We gave this a B+.
Enjoyed this story of the first horseback librarians in Kentucky.

 
  "" by klyoung3 (see profile) 07/08/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/10/20

I learned a lot about the library book project in Kentucky under Franklin Roosevelt. I never knew anything about it. The strength of the women in this book was wonderful.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/15/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/25/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/26/20

 
  "" by Abby0814 (see profile) 07/31/20

 
  "" by Tbaker123 (see profile) 08/08/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/13/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/16/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/20/20

Thoroughly enjoyed reading the story of these courageous women !

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/28/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/29/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/31/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/04/20

It was very slow in the beginning

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/08/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/15/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/20/20

Loved the history!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/20/20

Well written escape into history not often explored by writers.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/24/20

A beautiful story about a part of history often forgot about.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/02/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/09/20

 
  "The Giver of Stars" by lindabeh55 (see profile) 10/13/20

I loved this book. It was just so inspiring to see how she adapted and how she provided a much needed service.

 
  "" by MelissaT.Kelly (see profile) 10/17/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/18/20

 
  "" by dbeylo (see profile) 10/20/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/25/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/28/20


 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/30/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/20/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/29/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/10/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/01/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/05/21

 
  "" by NikkiRF (see profile) 01/06/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/06/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/20/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/20/21

 
  "" by Kathy1966 (see profile) 01/20/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/22/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/23/21

 
  "" by cjshutch (see profile) 01/27/21

 
  "" by lauralucalihoo (see profile) 02/05/21

 
  "" by KM (see profile) 02/09/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/16/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/17/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/20/21

 
  "" by Christie Lambert (see profile) 02/22/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/23/21

Loved it

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/27/21

 
  "" by AModic (see profile) 03/18/21

 
  "" by Go1cleary (see profile) 03/31/21

 
  "" by teachinggram (see profile) 04/08/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/11/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/18/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/25/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/03/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/17/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/18/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/27/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/04/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/07/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/16/21

 
  "" by Jbailey17 (see profile) 07/24/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/19/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/21/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/13/21

I gave this book 4 stars because of the slow beginning! But otherwise it would be a 5 star! I enjoyed the second half of the book where it started picking up! I couldnâ??t put the book down.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/20/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/24/21

 
  "Well written but slow" by eropp157 (see profile) 10/25/21

I enjoyed the last 1/3 of this book a lot and read it very quickly. As for the other 2/3, it was well written, characters were interesting, but it was very slow

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/08/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/11/21

 
  "" by ShawnG (see profile) 11/20/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/02/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/28/22

 
  "" by williams47 (see profile) 02/08/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/16/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/09/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/25/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/20/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/01/22

 
  "" by KRoby (see profile) 11/05/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/09/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/17/23

 
  "" by HerrL (see profile) 02/02/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/11/23

 
  "" by ebach (see profile) 03/30/23

Although it took about 100 pages before Jojo Moyes’ THE GIVER OF STARS was a story, in the end, I liked it. This is historical fiction about packhorse librarians in Depression-era Kentucky. Mainly, two stories are going on, both about particular librarians. Although the packhorse-librarian program was fact, I assume each of these stories is fiction. At least I can't find anything on the Internet about an English packhorse librarian in Kentucky or a packhorse librarian accused of murder.

As I read THE GIVER OF STARS, I was irritated that this is the third book my bookclub has read this year about librarians. And two of those books, one THE GIVER OF STARS and the other THE BOOK WOMAN OF TROUBLESOME CREEK by Kim Michele Richardson, are both about packhorse librarians in Kentucky. As a matter of fact, while I was researching how much of THE GIVER OF STARS is true, I learned that Richardson accused Moyes of plagiarism.

At any rate, although I did enjoy THE GIVER OF STARS, I wasn’t wowed by it. The historical parts are fine, but some of the details in the librarians’ stories seemed implausible to me.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/23/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/18/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/02/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/27/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/07/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/09/24

 
  "" by chanel (see profile) 04/24/24

 
  "" by SandraF (see profile) 05/20/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/28/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/07/24

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...