Secrets of Eden: A Novel
by Chris Bohjalian
Kindle Edition-

NOW A LIFETIME TV MOVIE STARRING JOHN STAMOS

From the bestselling author of The Double Bind, Midwives, and Skeletons at the Feast comes a ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Secrets of Eden" by ncvlib (see profile) 04/20/10

Like all of Bohjalian's books this was addictive. This was a great selection for a book discussion.

 
  "Secrets of Eden" by yooper1 (see profile) 05/20/10

Love the way he writes!

 
  "Secrets of Eden" by Bruce (see profile) 08/16/11

For the most part, everyone in the club really enjoyed reading this book. They found the characters very interesting and the story unusual. Our meeting was made more exciting by the fact that we were able to conference call with the author, Chris Bohjalian. He gave us many insights and was a delight.

 
  "Don't waste your time on these characters or the story." by REWall (see profile) 10/04/11

 
  "Bohjalian weaves" by tcheer4life (see profile) 02/06/12

tales which wrap around the reader's mind and seduce the reader into a comfort that both know is false. There is upheaval to come, but when and how?

 
  "Secrets of Eden" by lucydog (see profile) 10/01/14

Our book club was split between a few who really liked this book and many who strongly disliked it. Overall the group felt the characters were well developed but that they were very unlikeable. They felt Stephen Drew was a creepy minister and only did the right thing out of guilt. Most also felt Heather (the Angel lady) was annoying. I personally liked the book and was surprised that so many didn\\\\\\\'t enjoy it. However this difference of opinions within the group lead to an interesting discussion and I don\\\\\\\'t regret choosing this book as a reading choice for this very reason. There are some graphic descriptions of spousal abuse contained in the book that some found disturbing and we talked at length about domestic violence and members of the group shared some of their personal experiences.

 
  "Secrets of Eden " by Debkon (see profile) 10/10/14

Repetitive. Tedious to listen to because of this.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/10/18

 
  "Mesmeriziing Literary Thriller" by ebach (see profile) 02/13/19

I cannot emphasize enough how wonderful SECRETS OF EDEN is. Every sentence is so well written, and the story is arranged so well.

SECRETS OF EDEN begins with the first-person account of a Baptist minister, Stephen. After he baptizes one of his parishioners, Alice, she says, “There,” and Stephen forever blames himself for not realizing what she meant by that word and for not saving her from her husband.

Part II is the account of the state’s attorney, Catherine. She suspects that Alice’s husband did not commit suicide. She then suspects Stephen and looks for evidence against him.

Eventually Stephen meets Heather, an author of inspirational books about angels, who helps him and Alice’s daughter, Katie, with her first-hand knowledge of wife abuse, murder, and suicide. Part III of SECRETS OF EDEN, is Heather’s first-person account.

The final part of the book is Katie’s first-person account.

Every part of SECRETS OF EDEN sounds like it really is written by that person who narrates it. The writing and the story are mesmerizing as each part builds suspense, adds clues, and moves the story further. This is one fine literary thriller.

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...