The End of Your Life Book Club (Vintage)
by Will Schwalbe
Paperback- $16.95

An Entertainment Weekly and BookPage Best Book of the Year

During her treatment for cancer, Mary Anne Schwalbe and her son Will spent many ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "The Power of Books & Reading" by zodejodie4 (see profile) 11/17/12

“We're all in the end-of-your-life book-club, whether we acknowledge it or not; each book we read may well be the last, each conversation the final one.”

Ask anyone who knows me at all and they will tell you I am a reader. Oftentimes other words precede reader, words like voracious or avid. From the time I was a very young child I was enamored of books. They were treasures for me. They took me to places I might otherwise never go. So it will come as no surprise that I was drawn to this particular book.

"What are you reading?" With that question, one we've all asked and answered many times, Will Schwalbe invites us to vicariously join his book club of just two, Will and his mother, Mary Anne.

It's the story of a son and his mother and the book club they form as he accompanies her to appointments for chemotherapy. It's a story about family, and courage, and grace in the face of pain and loss. And, it's a story about the power of books to open conversations, to forge connections and to take us on journeys.

 
  "live until the end" by msharry (see profile) 11/20/12

Very different but satisfying book about the relationship between a man and his terminally ill mother and the love of books that provides stability and structure to their lives during the mother’s decline. As the author stated, books gave them something to talk about when they didn't want to talk about more emotional topics yet also triggered talk of memories and feelings

We live through those days from her diagnosis to the end with them, but what makes this book special is the discussion of the books. They recommend books to each other and then have lively exchanges of opinions about them and share those opinions with us. There is a bibliography at the end of book listing all the books cited. I was delighted to see many of my favorites, and have added some to my to-read list.

The death of a loved one is inherently sad, but the book is more of a celebration of the mother’s live and the gift she gave her son, a writer and publisher, of enjoyment of reading. The author mentions at one point that part of his mother will live on in the people who will someday read the books so precious to her. I especially enjoyed his description of his mother's faith--seen from the eye's of a nonbeliever. Definitely recommended to bibliophiles and anyone with a mother.

 
  "Slow, not what I had hoped for..." by Brendapartyka (see profile) 12/04/12

This book takes you through lots of doctor appointments and challenges of cancer. At first I enjoyed hearing the various book titles the mother and son read for their book club but halfway through the book I lost interest. There is little conversation about the books. Mostly the book is a memoir of the mother and her battle with cancer.

 
  "Connecting through books" by toffeymom (see profile) 03/24/13

A beautiful reminder of the gift that reading is and can be to each and every one of us. It is a way to connect and reconnect with people in ways we may have not thought possible. We can learn so much from one another through the amazing dialogue that shared reading can create. I think this a wonderful book for book clubs. I thoroughly enjoyed the author and his mother\\\'s insight on the many books our club has already read, and I was also able to make a wish list of books to read and recommend to others.

 
  "The End of Your Life Book Club" by hmgrogan (see profile) 04/25/13

Our group really enjoyed this book and found the relationship between Will and his mom very touching. We found Mary Anne to be an inspiration to all of us, and were impressed by her strong will to live, her unselfish devotion to the cause of refugees, and her strong faith.

 
  "mother and son" by msharry (see profile) 05/08/13

Very different but satisfying book about the relationship between a man and his terminally ill mother and the love of books that provides stability and structure to their lives during the mother’s decline. As the author stated, books gave them something to talk about when they didn't want to talk about more emotional topics yet also triggered talk of memories and feelings

We live through those days from her diagnosis to the end with them, but what makes this book special is the discussion of the books. They recommend books to each other and then have lively exchanges of opinions about them and share those opinions with us. There is a bibliography at the end of book listing all the books cited. I was delighted to see many of my favorites, and have added some to my to-read list.

The death of a loved one is inherently sad, but the book is more of a celebration of the mother’s live and the gift she gave her son, a writer and publisher, of enjoyment of reading. The author mentions at one point that part of his mother will live on in the people who will someday read the books so precious to her. I especially enjoyed his description of his mother's faith--seen from the eye's of a nonbeliever. Definitely recommended to bibliophiles and anyone with a mother.

 
  "Wonderful" by pgreenX2 (see profile) 05/20/13

This book is a must read for not only book club members but for others as well. I actually wavered between 4 and 5 stars. The relationship between writer and his mother as they read and discuss books is beautiful.

 
  "Wish I had the time back." by ralphb215 (see profile) 06/04/13

 
  "Insightful Read" by Hindsnorth (see profile) 06/13/13

I thought this was a very interesting, insightful and helpful book to me as my parents age and friends are dealing with cancer. I was amazed by the author, his incredible mother and the path that they took together. I found it provided a better understanding what a patient is feeling and how to help them. It was sad because you know that she will die, but the story was also compelling.

 
  "Good book, more positive than expected." by KarenCummins (see profile) 07/21/13

 
  "The End of Your Life Book Club" by janetyonker (see profile) 07/26/13

 
  "The End of your Life Book Club" by ullaulla (see profile) 07/27/13

One powerful woman's life dedicated to helping others while battling cancer written through her son's eyes and their relationship with sharing books with each other.

 
  "End of Your Life Book Club" by marylawoman (see profile) 07/31/13

 
  "The End of Your Life Book Club" by lwardein (see profile) 09/01/13

 
  "Memoir of an amazing woman and her son" by Staciele (see profile) 09/12/13

 
  "The End of Your Life Bookclub" by nbaker (see profile) 11/11/13

This is a moving and heart-warming story of one mother's journey at the end of her life - a journey of learning, growing and giving. While the outcome is known from the start, it was a beautiful story of the girst we leave family in the way of thoughts, deeds and insight into living - truly living. A good discussion book and a book that, for me, has offered a wide selection of additional books to put on my reading list.

 
  "The End of Your Life Book Club" by LanaK (see profile) 11/24/13

This book had mixed reviews by our group. Some really liked it and others felted the story was good but were not enthusiastic in the way it was told. A good book to read to obtain other books and authors to add to your personal reading list.

 
  "Living Life" by pjhwithrow (see profile) 12/06/13

A book full of wisdom on living life to the full, and walking someone through a terminal illness.

 
  "the End of Your Life Book Club" by sanmelita (see profile) 01/15/14

This is a story more about life than death, a beautiful choice between and mother and son to spend her last days discussing books and why they are important. A tender and moving memoir, and inspirational to live every day to the fullest.

 
  "Personal and universal" by mbell7 (see profile) 01/17/14

One day during her chemo treatment, Will asked, \"What are you reading?\" So the two-person book club was born, as Will and his mother discuss books they both read over the course of Mary Anne\'s treatments. The books are just a starting point for larger discussions of life, courage, love, and so much more. Each chapter is the title of a book, whether the book they\'re discussing or one that thematically ties into the subject of the chapter. Will intersperses memories of past days with the treatments and his mother\'s decline, painting a picture of a really wonderful woman I feel like I got to know just a little bit through his eyes. The book is sweet but not saccharine, sad but hopeful. Though it\'s Will\'s personal remembrance of his mother, there are so many universals about a love for reading and connections with others that our book club had no trouble having a lively hour-long discussion!

 
  "A great read!" by barbararobins (see profile) 04/17/14

This was a very good book with a nice twist of a son and mother getting to know one another better by reading books and telling stories. It also was insightful to a group of books I would like to read.

 
  "" by Emmasue22 (see profile) 05/16/14

 
  "The End of Life Book Club" by barbara.muzzin (see profile) 06/04/14

 
  "great for book lovers" by cyin2020 (see profile) 06/19/14

This is a memoir of a wonderful woman by his loving son with lots of books discussed along the way. Enjoy the ride.

 
  "The end of life book club" by Ceceb (see profile) 11/14/14

Serious topic but enlightening

 
  "The end of Your Life Book Club" by ferncloward (see profile) 05/18/15

My daughter and I read this book together as she was in the final stages of her cancer. We felt there was so much in common with what was happening in both our lives. We did like the book...it was insightful and brought comfort and peace.

 
  "Perfect for some, not for all" by BookDivasReads (see profile) 10/19/15

This book has been on my TBR list for quite some time so I was excited when it was chosen as a book group read. I expected to finish reading this book with a list of books to add to that TBR list, but that didn't happen. I empathized with Mrs. Schwalbe and her cancer treatments and applaud the Schwalbes for instilling a love of reading and giving back in their children. That's about the best I can say about this book. I didn't really connect with the reality of the people in this memoir nor could I related to their experiences. I'm glad I read this book, but I don't think I'll be recommending to anyone else anytime soon.

 
  "" by nmsanders34488 (see profile) 01/27/16

 
  "" by mneuburger (see profile) 01/30/16

 
  "" by Traci13 (see profile) 04/06/16

 
  "" by Hardcover (see profile) 04/21/16

 
  "The End of your Life Book Club" by carolfleming (see profile) 04/22/16

Our group gave it a 2.5 rating. We felt Will had written this book to deal with his grief. Everyone wanted to know more about his mother.

 
  "End of your life bookclub is just ok." by lizblair (see profile) 12/03/16

The end of your book club is ok. It starts off with a bounce in its step and then leads into just list of events and lists. Like a to do list. As I write this it occurs to me that this might have been the author's intention....but hey...it is ok

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/15/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/02/17

 
  "" by Alison8641 (see profile) 04/06/18

 
  "" by nellysteele (see profile) 03/10/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/29/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...