On the Island
by Ms. Tracey L. Garvis Graves
Paperback- N/A

When thirty-year-old English teacher Anna Emerson is offered a job tutoring T.J. Callahan at his family's summer rental in the Maldives, ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "A Buried Treasure" by FriendshipSisters (see profile) 06/06/12

Don't you just love it when you find a hidden treasure? Ab-so-lute-ly!!! I found this treasure while searching reviews and was thrilled when I saw it was only $2.99 for my nook. As you probably are all aware that is a deal these days, as e-book prices are increasing daily it seems. At this writing Goodreads lists this book at an average 4.21 rating with over 5,364 reviews, so I had to check out what all the fuss was about. Whew! I'm sure glad I did.


Another, first time novelist, Ms. Garves-Graves, has done an amazing job. It is written with such ease and transforms you into a castaway, with all the daily struggles to stay alive and overcome the transition from our daily, chaotic lives to one of fighting for survival from sun, insects, sharks and boredom. I really connected with the characters and their emotional struggles, and loved that she told the rest of the story.

Check out this enjoyable book of survival and forbidden love, you will be glad you did. :)

 
  "On the Island" by Sdc1221 (see profile) 06/13/12

 
  "ON the Island" by Poteau1 (see profile) 07/11/12

I wasn't particularly looking forward to this book from the description of it that I had read. Started reading it and almost immediately got hooked and really enjoyed the read. It is not one I would have picked for myself to read......one of the reasons I am so happy to be part of a book club.
Very well written, good read. Easy to follow and very enjoyable.

 
  "On the Island" by danatsmith (see profile) 08/01/12

I found the story not well developed, the characters not believable more like cardboard cutouts than real people. Everything was tied up too neatly. I would not have finished the book had it not been something our group was reading. Kudos to Ms.Graves for self publishing a bestseller so I would say I missed the mark not her.

 
  "On the Island" by Michellewh (see profile) 08/17/12

A real page turner....couldn't put the book down until I was done!!!!

 
  "On The Island" by amandavmartin (see profile) 08/20/12

 
  "Moral Dilemma" by GrandmaNaNa (see profile) 02/07/13

Two people of different age groups find themselves in a challenging situation. Living closely together in a life threatening situation they develop an emotional bond that is not considered acceptable in society.

 
  "loved it" by vernandglen (see profile) 03/07/13

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...