The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun
by Gretchen Rubin
Paperback- $8.99

Bretchen Rubin had an epiphany one rainy afternoon in the unlikeliest of places: a city bus. "The days are long, but the years are short," ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent A Year tring to sing in the Morning Clean my Closets, Fight, Read Aristotle, and GEnerally Have More Fun" by gazzingo (see profile) 03/24/10

Awful, Annoying

 
  "The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun" by Connieh67 (see profile) 05/20/10

As a club we did find a few things to pull out of this book that were positive. But overall, we found the writer to be a bit self-indulgent. It seems as though part of her answer in each month, to creating happiness had something to do with spending money, and while some of her ideas were good, I personally found her year of happiness project a bit trival.

 
  "KAP" by kapelle (see profile) 10/03/10

 
  "Happiness Project" by HotSalsa (see profile) 01/11/11

Although there were not many concepts that were new to me, there were several approaches that may not have been obvious to me before. I think most readers could take away at least a couple things to try in their own lives, making this a worth-while book to read.

 
  "The Happiness Project" by wudstock (see profile) 04/13/11

It's a bit of a sociological experiment as the author shares her goals, and undoubtedly her short comings, in order for readers to understand why she began the Happiness Project. We go through the process with her and learn how it positively impacted her life. She shares her trials and tribulations with humor and has inspired several of us to start our own Happiness Project.

 
  "The Happiness Project" by CFreeman112 (see profile) 05/02/11

A great book on how to increase the happiness in your life without abandoning the people, places and things that are already in it. Ms. Rubin shares her story and ideas for finding happiness without leaving your job, family and home! After reading this book, I became much more mindful of the people and things that bring me happiness!

 
  "The Happiness Project" by Carowell (see profile) 05/02/11

 
  "The Happiness Project" by EllieCat (see profile) 05/16/11

Absolutely DULL.

 
  "Boring" by MLT88 (see profile) 06/11/11

Boring self help experience.

 
  "Wouldn't recommend this to anyone" by SerenaW (see profile) 08/02/11

She is very self absorbed and it didn't motivate me to change anything. I feel bad that I made other people read this by picking it for my book club meeting :(

 
  "I totally enjoyed this book" by kdr4xmom (see profile) 08/09/11

This has been a terrific, and motivating book for me. Perhaps it hit a need in my own life for it to so resonate with me. I have since subscribed to her blog site and receive her facebook status updates.

 
  "Sparked great book club discussion!" by skinnyatlas (see profile) 01/31/12

This book, surprisingly, sparked an excellent discussion! Not because it was great literature but because it spoke to our deeply buried search for meaning in our lives: \\\\\\\"The days are long but the years are short\\\\\\\" (the tagline of the book) created a huge and positive debate over how we spend our time, is it worthwhile and what is the passion or talent that each of us brings to this life? Unexpectedly powerful discussion for what originally appeared to be a fun, upbeat read!

 
  "New years resolutions" by Lisameng (see profile) 03/07/12

New years resolutions broken down month by month. Stories and research as to why they are important.

 
  "Enjoyed the humor" by mybcjac24 (see profile) 06/23/12

My college daughter gave me this book as a gift. She wanted to help me find my happiness again. She was so right. I was in a terrible rut and need something to pull me out of it. It definitely helped get me going again but do not recommend for book club discussions.

 
  "Great Book" by macurtin86 (see profile) 10/16/12

well written, humorous and motivating

 
  "Really??!!!" by alvey (see profile) 01/28/13

Come on...unrealistic expectations. While I applaud trying to live a more meaningful life for yourself and others, I was overwhelmed by this book! TMI--too much information crammed into it! Felt it was more about the author than in her trying to help others.

 
  "The Happiness Project was Great!" by twnavarro (see profile) 06/13/13

I enjoyed her methodical approach to happiness. As a mother of three I identified with her struggles and enjoyed the book. May not be as applicable for folks who are single and or without children.

 
  "The Happiness Project" by pa03963 (see profile) 08/28/13

Very slow and too personal

 
  "A positive influence" by Katrunner (see profile) 09/19/13

This book was a good read for a non-fiction that's inspiring without being too deep. It led to a nice discussion about happiness in our own lives.

 
  "" by ckbrev (see profile) 06/09/14

 
  "the happiness project" by tes51 (see profile) 02/25/15

Some interesting points and ideas but in my opinion the author was self-centered and some parts were laborious.

 
  "Self Help - Blah!" by IrisMillett (see profile) 04/27/16

I'm not a big fan of self-help books. The author is a major over-achiever.

 
  "" by hkbarker (see profile) 10/14/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/04/19

We gave it a B.

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...