The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane
by Katherine Howe
Hardcover- $6.00

"A fresh present-day story infused with an original take on popular history. Forget broomsticks and pointy hats; here are witches that ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "You never know what your ancestral history holds until you begin looking" by De66yJ (see profile) 07/28/09

I enjoyed this book even though it was a little predictable - especially the professor's intentions. I loved the Milk Street house and thinking about her ancestors living there before her.. I would have liked the author to let us better understand why the mother and grandmother's relationship fell apart.

 
  "The physick book of Deliverance Dane" by nikkierickson (see profile) 07/28/09

 
  "Physick Book of Deliverance Dane, The" by Angeletti (see profile) 09/16/09

Not a bookclub book; however, did lead to discussion of witchcraft and value of women by men and society.

It was light reading but the author could have done a much better job writing. There were glimpses of interesting pages but she would soon follow a path of marketing that is cliche when it was time to build a plot or character.

 
  "The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane" by Gingepep (see profile) 11/03/09

 
  "The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane" by Karen Luca (see profile) 11/03/09

Very enjoyable read. Liked the tie-ins with history.

 
  "The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane" by jendorf10 (see profile) 01/15/10

Our group had a lively discussion about the mother/daughter relationships. The relationship with Sam and Connie compared to the romances of Connie's female relatives. The story provided detailed and accurate historical information on the Salem witch trials saga. The magic and mysterious house on Milk Street kept us interested as the story unfolded.

 
  "book review" by deltafox30 (see profile) 04/27/10

 
  "A prefect book for a Halloween book club event." by WCbookclub (see profile) 10/11/10

I found the book had many elements - romance, informative, a fine mystery with a touch of magic. Well written with a good base in history. Easy to read and each chapter leading to a common story thread.

 
  "The Psysic Book of Deliverance Dane" by suemoros (see profile) 10/31/10

Great book for discussion about Woman's place in the world. How it has changed and stayed the same.

 
  "The Physick Book of Deliverance Dance" by ChrisA (see profile) 11/13/10

Thoroughly enjoyed this well-researched and interestingly constructed book that tied a modern day heroine with connections in the past. How she discovers and tracks down information about a litle known woman from the Salem witch trials and the lingering mystery surrounding her story.

 
  "Good read" by bjhamilton (see profile) 01/12/11

 
  "The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane" by mmacleod (see profile) 02/12/12

My book club read this a few years ago so I can't remember a ton of detail but I can tell you we all loved it. A little suspense, historical info, romance, and wonderful quirky town. What's not to love... Discussion worthy as well especially in terms of how women who are "different" have been handled by society throughout time. Definitely recommend.

 
  "" by nanguidry (see profile) 10/16/14

 
  "" by cbraud (see profile) 10/18/14

 
  "" by momin0306 (see profile) 02/26/17

 
  "" by Picasso (see profile) 02/11/18

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...