The Soldier's Wife
by Margaret Leroy
Kindle Edition-

A novel full of grand passion and intensity, The Soldier’s Wife asks “What would you do for your family” “What should you do for a ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "The Soldier's Wife" by cskoniec (see profile) 08/29/11

Another aspect of life during the war and the personal conflicts and turmoil victims on both sides experienced.

 
  "The Soldier's Wife" by srpowen (see profile) 11/29/12

This book was an easy read for me. It showed the life of residents on an island during WWII. It was an interesting story with some drama in it. The main character is easy and fun to follow. It's nice to read her thoughts and emotions.

 
  "The Soldier's Wife" by rkarpinecz (see profile) 07/11/14

Readers who enjoyed The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society may well be drawn to this book. I enjoyed The Soldier's Wife until the final page. I feel the conclusion was disrespectful to readers who were likely to have been sympathetic to the protagonist and her plight. The conclusion raised legitimate questions; the author provided no answers.

 
  "Great Book Club Discussion " by Hillrat6 (see profile) 02/26/15

This was an interesting, if somewhat slow-paced, book. We all loved the time period (World War 2), and the imagery was evocative. However, the characters were somewhat thinly written and the overall storyline was somewhat predictable. Despite those shortcomings, we still enjoyed a lively discussion about the main characters and what we might've done in a similar situation.

 
  "The Soldiers Wife" by Alison8641 (see profile) 04/09/15

This is based on the overall feeling of my book club who enjoyed the book. I didn't really care for it. Most thought the setting, the feeling of despair and situation made a compelling story and believable plot. What people do and how they behave in desperate times can be the makings of a good read. Also good details about life during the war on Guernsey.

 
  "" by momin0306 (see profile) 02/26/17

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...