The Women: A Novel
by Kristin Hannah
Hardcover- $27.00

From the celebrated author of The Nightingale and The Four Winds comes The Women?at once an intimate portrait of coming of age in a ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/26/24

Loved it, but I had a hard time with so many bad things happening to Frankie. So informative and well researched!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/26/24

Lets read

 
  "" by grandmacline (see profile) 02/27/24

 
  "Not Hannah's Best" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/11/24

I love Kristin Hannah but this book was not my favorite. It was interesting perspective about war and you learn about the struggles of returning veterans but this one seemed like the struggle was far too long. The ending was great but the middle was not worth the hype.

 
  "The Women" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/15/24

It is the best book that I have read of Kristin Hannah’s books!! Very emotional and brilliantly written! You are right there!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/22/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/11/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/12/24

I think it's very good and useful

D?ch

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/18/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/19/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/23/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/23/24

 
  "" by chanel (see profile) 04/24/24

 
  "Great read!" by tracybowman (see profile) 04/26/24

Great insight into the women of Vietnam and their story abroad and returning home.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/29/24

Loved it!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/04/24

 
  "" by JaneDoby (see profile) 05/07/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/08/24


 
  "" by thewanderingjew (see profile) 05/08/24

 
  "" by dezertgirl (see profile) 05/08/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/10/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/12/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/15/24

Amazing!

 
  "WIMP couldn't do it " by lizblair (see profile) 05/16/24

could not finish it. I am a Nurse and the women in this booked bugged me to no end

 
  "" by nyrazy (see profile) 05/18/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/21/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/22/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/24/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/27/24

 
  "Mindblowing.....it will deeply open up your heart to Vietnam Vets " by spclmom4two (see profile) 05/28/24

My bookclub was captivated from start to finish. Kristen has to be the best at writing historical fiction.....she is so gifted. This book was profound to read, as I was in gradeschool and highschool during this time...and was clueless about the war and social issues that were taking place. What a beautiful and heart wrenching story. Another masterpiece by Kristen.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/30/24

Excellent.

 
  "Brilliant tribute to the nurses who served in Vietnam" by debaparker (see profile) 05/30/24

Perhaps because this happened in my lifetime, I had a hard time putting this book down. I finished it at 2a.m. and bawled my eyes out. I still remember seeing the Vietnam memorial for the first time. I call this a historical novel and one that will move you no matter your age.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/31/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/02/24

 
  "" by Adelaide (see profile) 06/03/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/04/24

Loved it ! Love historical fiction

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/13/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/13/24

 
  "" by hjhanson (see profile) 06/13/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/14/24

10 stars out of 5!! Wanted to add this to my list, but Jan beat me to it, so I added it anyway for extra eyes on it. :-) One of my favorite ALL TIME books! Reminds me of M.A.S.H.?, the series & movie (with Alan Alda) about Korean/U.S. war surgical unit, EXCEPT this book is MUCH more serious and during Vietnam war era and after. Covers many stories about war time PTSD, and the many years it affects someones life. Realistic romance, with all the troubles and issues it can bring. I cried throughout much of this book, and am eager to read its wonderful storytelling again. Could not put it down!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/15/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/21/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/21/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/25/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/29/24

 
  "" by rlhoff (see profile) 07/01/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/01/24

 
  "" by oldbidder1 (see profile) 07/02/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/04/24

I have mixed feelings on this one. It’s very well written, researched, the whole nine yards. But I feel like it went on for so long and could’ve probably been 100 pages shorter.

It’s also just not my typical read, which is fine. Normally I’m reading romance or some sort of fantasy novel (even better when they’re mixed!), and this clearly wasn’t one of those. I still think it was a good book, just not something I’d normally reach for.

I think my biggest issue was that Frankie only became interesting in the last 20% of the book. You could’ve picked anyone else from that field hospital and instantly had a better story.

Anyway, I know everyone at book club says I rate harshly but I’m gonna give this one 3.5/5 stars (I’ll round up for GR)

You’ll like this if you enjoy historical fiction, war stories, or the History channel.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/07/24

Since I lived during those times, I really felt it is an important novel

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/10/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/11/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/13/24

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...