The Only Woman in the Room: A Novel
by Marie Benedict
Hardcover- $17.81

The New York Times and USA Today Bestseller!

She possessed a stunning beauty. She also possessed a stunning mind. Could the world handle ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/09/19

Quick, easy read. Great story that left me wanting to know what happened next.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/26/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/05/19

In the first 20-30 chapters, I thought the book was OK. The slow start had me wondering why I was reading it. But when the plot thickened later, I was so intrigued I couldn’t wait to finish it. What a great story of women’s empowerment! Who knew what Hedy Lamarr would become...

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/15/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/22/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/28/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/13/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/26/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/05/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/06/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/25/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/25/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/04/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/05/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/19/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/28/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/20/19

 
  "Beautifully imagined tale of lesser known aspects" by zodejodie4 (see profile) 10/02/19

3.5 stars. Well written blend of history & fiction. I enjoyed this imagining of the lesser known parts of Hedy Lamar's story. What a fascinating woman she must of been. If only we'd known more of this side of her. I'm grateful to learn of it now.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/12/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/18/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/23/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/07/20

I enjoyed this book, it was a page turner and a quick read. I didn’t know it was based on a true story and that made the book that much more memorable. Particularly enjoyed reading about a strong woman that overcame obstacles and persevered.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/17/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/17/20

I had no idea about Hedy’s life. What an interesting person. We usually think of Hollywood stars as one dimensional shallow glamour girls. Hedy was an incredibly bright self taught inventor who laid the foundation for a number of important scientific advances. A fun, informative read.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/18/20

Definitely an incredibly interesting story. Hedy was a very strong woman trying to do the right thing for her family and eventually fellow Jews.

The writing was good, but not great. A bit repetitive. Overall I’m glad I read the story. Just not raving about it.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/23/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/14/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/23/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/08/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/20/20

Love Marie Benedict... loved the topic, was not a fan. Hedy lived such an incredible life...I just don’t think it was captured.

 
  "" by Rhalpern (see profile) 10/14/20

 
  "" by Eviee2013 (see profile) 05/07/21

 
  "" by ckoller (see profile) 05/10/21

 
  "" by AirheadReads (see profile) 06/19/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/08/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/29/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/05/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/10/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/28/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/11/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/26/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/16/22

 
  "" by Sophie99 (see profile) 03/21/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/29/22

 
  "The Only Woman in the Room" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/17/22

Kept me interested throughout as well as looking forward to next development. I was aware of some of the facts, but the telling of the story brings such additional depth and knowledge. Hedy Lamarr was an amazing woman, may she RIP.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/26/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/05/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/12/23

I was expecting a fast paced thriller but this was more of a fictional biography. Interesting information but boring delivery.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/19/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/13/23

I really enjoyed the story. I learned things about Hedy Lamarr that I had never heard. I love the way Marie exposes the true stories of women who have not been recognized for their contribution to society. Love her style of writing as well!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/18/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/05/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/15/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/20/23

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/02/24

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/15/24

This was a good quick read. I am also currently reading The gentleman in Moscow. The two stories take place at the same period of time . In the same region of our world . The only woman story tells a story of awareness and active duty of helping the people of war . The Gentleman tells of a story of a privileged man playing the victim. A total diabolical pendulum of the different aspects of people during wartime. I look forward to the discussion about the repression of women during that time .

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...