The Lost Apothecary: A Novel
by Sarah Penner
Hardcover- $27.99

Click on the ORANGE Amazon Button for Book Description & Pricing Info

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "SO GOOD!!" by Silversolara (see profile) 03/03/21

Who wouldn't like to solve a hundred-year-old mystery and especially one that had to do with poisons that were used to kill unfaithful husbands or boyfriends.?

Caroline came to London for a tenth anniversary celebration, but found out her husband had been having an affair so she came alone.??

She didn’t want to follow through with her itinerary she was to have had with her husband and happened upon a man who suggested she go mudlarking with a group.

Mudlarking was done in the 1800’s as a means of survival by finding things washed up on the shore, but this group did it for fun.??

Caroline finds a vial with a bear on it. Her curiosity as a historian had her searching for what the vial may have been used for and the place where a shop probably existed in 1791 that could have created remedies.

??While Caroline is looking for clues, we flash back to 1791 and meet Nella who made remedies, actually poisons, for women who needed to be rid of their husbands. A young girl, Eliza, who came to the shop to have Nella make a potion for her mistress, took an interest in the shop. ??

Nella, Eliza, and Caroline collide virtually in present day through research and poisons.

??THE LOST APOTHECARY is very clever, enjoyable, different, unique, and very well researched. ??

I loved the information about the maps of London and finding clues to how others lived and worked in past times. ??

History buffs, those who love solving years-old mysteries, and those who love Old London won’t want to miss this book.??

ENJOY!!

An amazing debut!! 5/5??

This book was given to me by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/15/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/21/21

Loved it, the second half kept me on my toes the whole time and I felt like I could picture each and every character!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/11/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/14/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/14/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/19/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/22/21

 
  "" by hhrogue (see profile) 05/25/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/05/21

Super great airplane read

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/06/21

 
  "" by charlenep.cp (see profile) 06/10/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/14/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/22/21

I love anything British so it was right up my alley.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/24/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/24/21

Really liked it!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/25/21

I give it a 3 (overall) and a 1 (specifically for the ending). It was a quick, fun read but I thought the ending was terribly unimaginative and just weird/out of place.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/26/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/26/21

I liked the female centered story telling and record keeping

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/26/21

Gives an interesting twist on herstory of the apothecary/ natural healer mixed with current modern womanhood.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/26/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/26/21

I want to give it a 4.5, but this app won’t let me ???? - ha.ha! Great story. Love how each chapter is from a different character’s perspective. I found Nella and Eliza’s storyline to be a lot more interesting than Caroline’s.

 
  "" by Aeschmitz (see profile) 06/26/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/04/21

 
  "Great 1st book for this author" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/16/21

Great historical fictional novel of past and present writing about an apothecary and the present day modern women.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/17/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/03/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/08/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/14/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/28/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/31/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/16/21

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...